We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brocato's Sandwich Shop

Brocato's Sandwich Shop
5021 E Columbus Dr, Tampa, FL 33619-2401
813-248-9977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,896 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Soups, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Saint Robert, Missouri
Level Contributor
127 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“I liked it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great food....the place is very small but the food is worthy...I would recommend to take the food to go..but I totally recommend it.Also...the place has a good history.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    62
    9
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“FAMOUS for their Cuban Sandwich and Deviled Crab!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We found this FUN place to eat on TRIP ADVISOR!! My husband has lived in the Tampa area for over 40 years and he had never heard of Brocato's.
I guess I have tried probably 6 different Cuban sandwiches thru the years and this is NOW my all-time favorite place to go for one.
My husband and I decided to split a 12" sandwich and one of their speciality deviled crabs (softball size). Both were DELICIOUS and we still brought home I/2 of our sandwich home for leftovers.
They open 7:30 AM for breakfast and close at 6:00 PM.
Can't to go back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brocato's Sandwhich Shop - an East Tampa Treasure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Although I've lived in the Tampa Bay area for over 40 years, until last week I had never visited Brocato's. Offering the "Devil Crab" as it is locally known, this enormous offering is the size of a child's nerf football ! Lightly panko crusted and with a very thin crust, this massive 'devil' has a minimum of filler and a maximum of crab meat ! Likewise, Brocato's Cuban sandwiches depart from the ordinary Cubans in having a very high meat to bread ratio...and a variety of meats not seen on conventional Cubans. The mass and wieght of a 6 inch sandwich strains credulity. It would help if one could unhinge one's jaw like a python, in order to comfortably take the first bite. Atmosphere is casual and marked by a continual stream of patrons flowing in and out with seating both in the air-conditioned interior and outside on a variety of covered porches. WOW.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic taste of Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The BEST Cuban sandwich period. You have not had a Cuban sandwich until you have been to Brocatos. After your visit, every other sandwich just does not measure up. Mike Brocato continues to run the family business in such a manner that you feel like a visiting member of the Brocato’s family. If you do not like Cuban sandwiches, I WOULD definitely recommend the CHICKEN PARM sandwich, wow!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Incredible Deviled Crab. Great Sandwiches. Mediocre Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Just happened to be in the area and was looking for a quick, good lunch. Recommendations all pointed here. Great advice.

This "sandwich shop" has way more to offer on its menu. Two of us split a couple things so we could sample. The Cuban sandwich was as good as any in Miami. The Deviled Crab ball was amazing. I'd go back just for that. The Philly Cheese steak was better than Pat's or Geno's or Kampo's in Philadelphia.

The service was friendly and fast. There wasn't enough seating, so everyone was hovering as try waited for orders.

I'll visit again when in Tampa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brocato's Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Brocato's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brocato's Sandwich Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.