We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast just as good as lunch or dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Grill

Michael's Grill
11720 N Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33618-3504
813-964-8334
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #340 of 2,001 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian, Eclectic, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“breakfast just as good as lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Have eaten dinner here a few times, lunch as well but this hot Memorial Day Saturday decided to have breakfast there. Michael's is far enough off a Tampa main street, N. Dale Mabry, to allow for quiet dining, inside or outside. It has the true relaxed feel of a French bistro & the chef owner often comes out to greet regulars/friends. I had a wonderful eggs Florentine. They have recently added a liquor license so you can more than wine now (although they have a very nice selection)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    2
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Above Average Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and I visited Michael's on a Saturday night with another couple. We had reservations and were seated quickly as the restaurant was rather empty for a Sturday evening. Service was prompt and the waitress was friendly. None of us are really drinkers, so we passed on the wine list and ordered our meals. I had the crab bisque which is really very good. It is full of lump crab and very flavorful. In addition we had a shrimp appetizer which was also very tasty, but some of the shrimp were overcooked. For her entree, my wife had shrimp pasta which she said was very good, but a little heavy on the garlic for her taste. I had twin petit filet oscar. The steaks were very good, but the oscar had more mushrooms then crab. I was a little disappointed in my entree, but overall I felt the service and atmosphere compensated. The prices are reasonable and the location on N. Dale Mabry Highway is very central to many activities. While overall I would say the evening was above average. We will probably return to Michael's.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Slightly inexperienced service but excellent food from start to finish.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Four of us went to Michael's Grill last night and had a wonderful meal. We went early and on a Tuesday night, so no one was in the bar when we arrived. Our server ended up making our drinks, which was fine except for the martini--not well made. Granted, my Dad is particular about his 'Martins'. I didn't have a great feeling after that, but once the food was served, it completely wiped out any small complaints. From the bread, to the fresh salads to all four entrees being served at the same time by all servers (impressive) and PIPING hot from the oven--delicious. All four of us shared each other's food/sauces and couldn't even decide whose dish was the best--unprecedented. We ended up ordering dessert, which also blew us away. (toffee bread pudding) We are excited to try Michael's again on the weekend. Our server gave good recommendations, but just wasn't over-to-top experienced. Yet we all plan to go back, so no disasters. Will update with another review.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Not what you'd expect in a strip mall restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have been to this restaurant many times, and I am never disappointed. It is located in the back section of a strip mall on Dale Mabry but worth looking for. The breakfasts are fresh and wonderful. The dinner's are diversified and the atmosphere is romantic and relaxing. You can dine outside also.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beyond the ordinary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Take it from the culinary experts, Michael's Grill in Carrollwood is beyond the ordinary. With Chef Michael on the gille and Andrea creating fantastic deserts and pouring great wine, it truly is an experience of a lifetime. Their Sunday brunch is outstanding.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.