We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch, Service Was Only OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi

Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi
601 S Harbour Island Blvd., Suite 100, Tampa, FL 33602-5927 (Formerly Jackson's Bistro-bar-sushi)
813-277-0112
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #172 of 1,877 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Asian, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Franklin/Channelside
Description: Jackson’s Bistro Bar & Sushi opened on Harbour Island in 1997 and has been witness to a rapidly changing downtown Tampa. Because it is locally owned and independently managed, Jackson’s can keep up with the demands of an ever evolving Tampa and deliver the upscale experience and tremendous value that our Guests demand.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch, Service Was Only OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went to Jackson's for lunch - it was so beautiful. The outdoor seating had a beautiful view and the atmosphere was lovely. We ordered some sushi for lunch and we shared the salmon salad. Everything was fresh and delicious. Unfortunately, the service was only ok. It took the staff a while to notice/acknowledge us. We had to get our own menus and then it took a while for them to take our order. It was too bad - better service would have made this place a 5 star must-go-to restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    216
    104
    40
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food, A Bit Pretentious and Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I loved the atmoshpere and look of this place on the water. After wandering the restaurant trying to catch someone's eye or find a sign directing us to a host(ess) station to seat us, we wandered outside. The sign out there said to please be seated by the hostess inside. It didn't appear the staff was very interested in whether we dined with them or not.

We sat outside on a beautful day and although the food was good, it wasn't anything special. We had a Cobb salad, a club sandwich and a french dip, two waters and an iced tea. After we ordered a cup of coffee that took three times to get right and each time it was like an inconvenience, even though their coffees are supposed to be their specialty. We split two desserts- they were good. The check was nearly $70 with tip.

There are better options in this price range in the Downtown Tampa area and there are many less expensive options which you could take out and sit along the water and have quite a few bucks left over.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“fantastic view and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This place had a great view along the water. We sat and watched the rowing team and had dinner a long a sunset. We had a waiter that appeared to be in training, but everything ran fairly smooth. They messed up by not telling us there was crab in the macaroni that we were going to feed our 1 year old twins, but the quickly apologized and replaced the item. We will be coming back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Weak start to service made up for by excellent nigiri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Coming from cloudy Seattle we asked to be seated outside in the sun and the hostess said "there isn't any" before walking away and leaving us with a bus boy to try to seat us (and telling us to go find anywhere we want). That turn off almost made me leave since I had low expectations for the food. The blackened salmon salad was excellent, and the sushi was almost as good as some of the excellent sushi available in Vancouver, BC (which is the best I've ever had). Fresh yellowtail and sake was a pleasant surprise. The view was nice but not spectacular... I'd go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Jackson's is right on the bay so you have a lovely view. You have your choice of outside or inside seating. They have a bar within each setting. It has been around for quite awhile. The restaurant has a nice varied menu from seafood, beef, sushi,etc. I have enjoyed the scallops and the sushi menu. They have live music at times. I have always had a good experience with them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's Bistro Bar & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.