We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Martinis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Restaurant

Bernini Restaurant
1702 East 7th Ave., Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)
813-248-0099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,964 restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Martinis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visited Bernini's with a group of 30 fellow RVers. To arrive with such a crowd definitely presents unique challenges. The seating, as a consequence, was a bit crowded, and the noise level in the restaurant was a bit loud. Our waitress was somewhat hindered by the crowded conditions, but she coped beautifully and was very efficient and friendly. The food proved to be excellent in quality and quantity. I had the tortolini carbonara which was served with very good sliced Italian sausage and crispy pancetta, and roasted pistacios. My wife ordered the salmon and was more than pleased. She said it was very moist, cooked just right, and very flavorful - this from a woman who spent ten summers in Alaska eating tons of salmon. Now for the kicker. Weeknights between 4 and 7, all the entrees and pasta dished are half price. The vodka martinis are all $2.00. Appetizers were $4.00 each. We had Beef Carpaccio and it was excellent. We plan to visit this restaurant again when we are in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    78
    48
    20
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hits and misses, but worth the experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

$2 martinis were strong, which is how we like them! The mango was delicious but the Cosmo wasn't good. BBQ chicken pizza was yummy. The beef carpaccio was not good and was covered in greens with more capers than beef. Loved the atmosphere and architecture! You can walk in and think you are in a different country. Beautiful staircase and really unique pizza oven.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average Italian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I will preface this by saying I'm a bit fussy about my Italian food. I ordered the caesar salad with oysters and although the portion was nicely sized, I found it over dressed. I also ordered the pasta special for the night. It was again nicely portioned and flavorful; it just wasn't much better then what I can make myself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best! A must!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

my boyfriend and I made reservations for New Years Eve and we arrived a bit early so we sat at the downstairs bar....big mistake! the blonde bartender with short hair was not professional at all....for such a nice place I thought she would of been. I asked for a Manhattan but what she brought tasted more like a bourbon and coke and just by her alone I wasn't going to write such a good review but that all changed once we were seated upstairs (highly recommend!)
the restaurant had another bar upstairs with a professional bartender which was a good thing because if there wasn't I wouldn't of ordered another drink from the bartender downstairs ( the bartender downstairs was not a good bartender...I saw her sneeze in her hand and pick up two martini glasses for customers...yuck!) I ordered the shrimp pasta dish which was great but my boyfriend ordered the Crispy duck which was amazing!!! I will be coming back for that!! our waiter was Jason who was a first class waiter....very nice and helpful! him and the food is why I am giving this place 5 stars!
* sit upstairs, ask for Jason as your waiter and don't go to the downstairs bar

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced Italian in Ybor City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great neighborhood to explore - 1 of 3 historic districts in the state. We sat outside and enjoyed our meal and the people watching. Restaurant is housed in a former bank building. Excellent waitress. Salads we shared were split without asking and were fresh and delicious. Osso Buco and Grouper were 2 of the highlights for entrees. A very enjoyable evenig and only about 10-15 minute drive from downtown Tampa. Great happy hour until 7pm with $2 martinis and half off entrees - can't beat that!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernini Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bernini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.