We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernini Restaurant

Bernini Restaurant
1702 East 7th Ave., Tampa, FL 33605 (Historic Ybor)
813-248-0099
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 2,001 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Delaware
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quite a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The placed was packed so we thought it would be good, it did not disappoint. The grouper crusted in pistachios was out of this world, the $2 martinis were a nice addition.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    52
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Concierge recommendation led us to Bernini. Ybor City location was nice and the interior was well done as it is an old bank building. The positive part of the review ends there. The waiter was just lost. Took forever to get drinks. When they arrived they were wrong. At one point he disappeared for almost 30 minutes. When he came back he said he had been looking for a bottle of wine. Food was good, not great. Sadly, poor service always trumps decent food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food if go during early evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Entrees are half price until 7PM. Portions are ample and good. Large parties are slow to be served but when discussed with manager, we were given free desserts. They do want you to have a good experience. My husband loves the lasagna.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had been looking for a good pizza in Tampa. One with a crispy crust! Bernini's delivered and I love goat's cheese on a pizza too. The food is excellent - try their Lollipop Lamb and Calamari, they are fantastic. The $2 Martini's are a deal as well .... Great ambience and service and right in the center of Ybor City. Fabulous restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What's a Negroni?!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My request for a Negroni was met with a blank stare then followed by "What is a Negroni?" I never imagined that an Italian restaurant would not know what a Negroni is. Waitress then asked bartender who also said she never heard of it. I provided the recipe (equal parts Gin, sweet vermouth and Campari with a twist of orange) and she brought me an awful mess. Pretty sure they used dry vermouth (ugh). Sent the drink back and ordered a $2 martini which was what you'd expect for the price. Food was okay. Nothing to rave about. Atmosphere is okay (a bit too noisy for me).

The Negroni is "the" classic Italian drink and there is no reason it should be a mystery to any bartender in an Italian restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bernini Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bernini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.