We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely an old Tampa tradition” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonnade

The Colonnade
3401 Bayshore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33629-8802
(813) 839-7558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #258 of 1,964 restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Definitely an old Tampa tradition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have pass this place so many times and had wondered about it so when it was suggested that we go there it was fine with me. I researched it and found the history on it...been around since 1935 and have grown and evolved over the years...so I was eager to experience it. We had a booth with a great view. The food was decent but the service was very, very slow. The waiter was good but the food and drinks just took longer than they should have. I had the Key West Crab cakes which was one of the special...it was good, no bread fillers, my son had fried shrimp which he liked,my Mom had a bowl of clam chowder which she seemed to enjoy..very rich. I would go back because it is so convenient to where I stay when I am in Tampa but would figure in the slow service. The view is nice but something about the ambiance is a little off for some reason.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    65
    69
    40
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good view, so-so food, indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Went with another couple on a Saturday night and sat in the bar since it was a long wait, so we even missed out on the view. Service was very slow, sodas ran dry. Soup came out cold and they forgot the dipping sauce. Then they forgot to bring it again after I requested it. The orange curry chicken was ok, but the sauce I eventually got was a basic sweet and sour, not an orange curry. The other meals were reportedly ok, nothing to get excited about. It would have not been so bad except for the very slow service - a very average experience in a restaurant that in past years has seen much better quality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st croix us vi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

First we went on a WHIM we got the same reference from 3 independent sources the Parking attendant at the Tampa Aquarium, a retail sales lady and a fellow tourist who over heard us asking for a recommendation. First Location, Location, Location I didn't see a seat in the house that didn't offer some sort of view of the bay! Second staff staff staff the front of the house the wait staff funny cute honest knowledgable definite yes would go back I am highly recommending it to you all my friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Colonnade a Tampa Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Colonnade is a Tampa classic that everyone should enjoy. The seafood is great, especially the Fried Shrimp and as a treat try the alligator. This family owned business has served the Tampa Bay area well and whether you want a great dinner or a leisurely lunch sitting in the booth overlooking beautiful Tampa Bay, this is a must when coming to Tampa, There will always be the new and upcoming restaurants but the tried and true should be cherished as well. Good eating for all!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were wary from having read the other reviews, but this turned out to be just what we were looking for as our Tampa seafood experience. Decided to come when our cab driver recommended it. Charmaine provided attentive and speedy service. The crab stuffed mushroom caps were generous with the crab, the salad was standard fare, the coconut fried shrimp was delicate and HOT. I even liked the collard greens with bacon. The regular fried shrimp was a bit too bready for my husband's taste, but the key lime pie made up for it! Two entrees, two drinks, and dessert all for $58.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonnade also viewed

 

Been to The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.