We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deli” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wright's Gourmet House

Wright's Gourmet House
1200 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-5009
813-253-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 2,163 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

"There is a reason this place is always packed.” This is my favorite Deli in Tampa. They have the best New Yorker Sandwich and fantastic soups of the day. Plus they have tons of pasta sides to choose from. Then there are the Desserts! I am not a big sweet tooth guy but everything I have had was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Something Just Isn't "Wright" About This Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Upon our visits to Tampa, my wife and I often drive past Wright's Gourmet House noticing the full parking lot. So we decided to stop in to experience it ourselves. Honestly, it isn't as good as any other deli we've visited. We tried their signature sandwich, the beef martini, with a side of shrimp pasta salad as well as a side of veggie pasta salad. The sandwich was rather blah; rare roast beef with sautéed mushrooms and bacon. The bread was okay but was just sliced white bread you can get anywhere. The mushrooms were heated right in front of us but were somehow cold and tasteless. (Perhaps a little horseradish and/or cheese would have helped.) The veggie pasta salad was loaded with what may have been parmesan cheese (too much) and, unfortunately, I kept tasting it all afternoon. On a good note, the shrimp pasta salad was quite tasty and well-seasoned. Also, the Hawaiian princess cupcake was good. It consisted of dense yellow cake filled with pineapple topping (the kind you put over ice cream) iced with cream cheese frosting. And NO plain unsweetened iced tea, just flavored (mango, orange, etc.)...what? Better deli choices: Earl Of Sandwich, Toojay's, and Wawa, just to name a few.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelandJuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WrightsGourmetHouse, Owner at Wright's Gourmet House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I apologize for your disappointing visit. We clearly made the Beef Martini wrong because it needs piping hot mushrooms to melt the garlic butter and give the sandwich the "pop" it's known for. While our butter-crust white is the original recipe, I prefer pumpernickle and we also offer whole wheat, rye, onions rolls, and Cuban bread.

Would you allow me the opportunity to mend fences? If so, please call me at 813-253-3838 x22.

Thank you,

Jeff Mount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had an office function with sandwiches, veggie and dessert tray catered. Excellent! A little pricey, but well worth it. You won't be disappointed. The cream cheese chocolate brownies were divine!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2wego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My first stop when I arrive inTampa. fyi... There is a reason this place is always packed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to get great food. Larger than normal portions, price is right,service is great, best coconut cream pie ever! Need to check it out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulldogs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food & Dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The sandwiches are just piled high, and the dessert. What kind I say! They are absolutely wonderful! Hugh pieces of cake that are just yummy! I'd just get the dessert most times, forget the food. :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gcolli55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wright's Gourmet House also viewed

 

Been to Wright's Gourmet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing