We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait Till Next Year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
1700 N West Shore Blvd, Tampa, FL 33607
(813) 282-1118
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,943 restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Union Street
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House in Tampa, FL serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.
FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't Wait Till Next Year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary last evening the same way we have for the last 10 years or so, by dining at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. It's our once-a-year splurge and it has yet to disappoint. The steaks are the best I have EVER eaten, the shrimp is cooked and seasoned to perfection (again, no other shrimp I have tasted compares!), the sweet potato casserole and the broiled tomatoes are heavenly. The service was stellar.

We have dined at other Ruth Chris restaurants in Indianapolis, Fort Lauderdale, Orlando, and Louisville and must say we like the ambiance of the Tampa restaurant the best. Keep up the good work!

(the only disappointment during this visit was not getting a complimentary creme brulee to share for our anniversary as we have in the past.)

But we're still coming back next year!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    93
    29
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STEAKS WITH WITH VERY HIGH PRICES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Let me start this review with a statement. Ruths Chris steakhouse(yes that's the correct spelling) is one of top two or three steakhouses in central Florida. The only gripe I have with Ruths Chris is that most of the side dishes that normally accompany an entree like potato or salad or veggy, whether it's a Denny's or a high end place like this, are included in the price of the entree. These are ala carte here and costs quickly add up. It's my opinion that when you pay anywhere from $25.00 to $50.00 for a steak, no matter how great it is the side item should come along with it. That said, steaks here are as good as they get. In fact, all that I've tried from appetizers to desserts are fantastic. In addition, the drinks are very well done too. A place for special occasions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had awesome service and the staff was very personable. The food was well prepared and promptly served and cleared. First time at the restaurant and we will go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dissapionted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Well, wife and I were trying to decide where to go for our 30th anniversarry. I called up to make reservations and let them know what the occasion was. I was told they would do something special. To me it seemed as if it was a canned presentation. Service was mediocre at best. Food as usual was very good, just very dissapointed at the "special" service. While everyone said the right words, it seemed scripted. It didn't seem as if anyone went out of their way. I'll go back because the food is good, just not for anything special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“ok but,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

this place is very good. drinks are good the meats are very good. the desserts are very good.
but for the steaks and the lamb chops were very good they had to much salt on the meats.
maybe the cooks or chef don't watch how much salt they put on the meat. they should taste the
seasoning before they use it. to much salt ruins they taste of the meat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.