We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for sushi and sashimi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban Japanese Cuisine

Ichiban Japanese Cuisine
2786 E Fowler Ave Ste A, Tampa, FL 33612-6297
(813) 978-8095
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #412 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good place for sushi and sashimi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We go here from time to time. Tonight we went with another couple. I remembered from the last time we went that a person ordered sukiyaki and said it was so full of gristle, he could not eat it. He did not send it back, but just ate his soup and salad. We warned them about the beef. I want to say that the sushi and sashimi were excellent and the person who ordered the chicken teryaki was happy with that. I would say that this is a very good place to eat if you don't order a beef dish. The prices are reasonable and the service is very good. The meals come with miso soup, salad and rice. Dinner is less than $20 a person and you can save an extra dollar per meal by coming between 5:30 and 6:30 for the early bird

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a great sushi restaurant. They had some really nice sushi rolls which were very different than what we have had in the past. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Restaurant was clean. And seemed to be a fairly popular place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Solid experience all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been looking for a delicious and reliable (in quality) sushi place near my home and finally found it this past weekend.
- Cozy atmosphere without feeling crowded (kids are welcome, but also an intimate feel)
- Very good quality raw fish, along with many other options
- Good service
- Amazing deal vis-a-vis price without sacrificing quality, unlike the local all-you-can-eat sushi restaurant
My only complaints are: the plum wine is too syrupy-sweet.
Also, I wish they were open later on weekend nights!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Waited a while for the appetizer then waited forever for the sushi rolls, that I even had to ask if my order was being made. In addition to that usually the sushi is good but tonight it was terrible. It was so sappy, sloppy and not rolled tightly that I would not want to go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“awesome sushi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This has long been a favorite sushi place, it's been around 25 years and I have been making pilgrimages to it for 12 of those years. Went back again this week while in town and was not disappointed! Excellent specialty rolls as well as old standards, THE BEST dynamite roll I've ever had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban Japanese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.