We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Columbia Restaurant

The Columbia Restaurant
2117 E 7TH Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3903 (Historic Ybor)
813-248-4961
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Cross street: 21st street
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Friends who live in the Tampa area took us to the Columbia Restaurant in Ybor (Eee-bore) City and I'm so glad they did. The beauty of the many dining areas, the decor, and the beautiful painted tiles are reason enough to stop in. Add the wonderful food and you have a match made in heaven.

Our stop was in mid-afternoon for lunch. Even at that time, there was a wait of about 1/2 hour. It was definitely worth it. We were seated at a table for four with lots of green foliage at our side as well as a fountain. So, in spite of the number of people in the dining room, it didn't feel crowded. Crusty, warm Cuban bread, wrapped in paper, was brought for each of us. It was delicious! Our order included a crab appetizer, a fish entree, and bean cakes. I ordered a half salad with a Cuban sandwich. What a surprise when the waitress came to the table to prepare my salad in a large bowl. She squeezed a fresh lemon over the lettuce, added some vinegar and shredded cheese, and lightly tossed it. Again, delicious!

Next door is a small gift shop that also sells cigars. I felt things were a bit overpriced, but the items do make a nice souvenir of a very unique restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    868
    464
    181
    75
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most excellent Paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Excellent service and the best paella I've had in years. We got there early (5:15) and didn't have a reservation, and only waited a few minutes to be seated. They fill up very quickly, so make the reservation to be safe. Excellent wait staff. Somewhat expensive, but well worth the price. Not an everyday place, but not just special occasions either.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An all night experience if you stay for the show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Located in Ybor area of Tampa, This area is being revitalized and a nice walk around, if you have to wait for your table. The food is well worth the trip. They have 3 types of Paella, including vegetarian. This is more food than I could eat. Everyone took home enough food for another meal. The house salad is a must have. The dressing is wonderful and you can get the recipe on line.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Touch of Ybor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Before you get in the restaurant you get to see some of Old Ybor and tile on the outside of Columbia Restaurant.But then the food is really tasty, server really know the flavor of all the food they serve .Ant the have dancer shows.It make you feel like your in another country .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Went for my bday Last Year”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It's expensive first off and the food is good, you get a good amount but I swear we were ther for over 3 hours! It takes forever to get a 3 course meal. I butt was numb and asleep by the time we left. It took so long thats what made me give it a poor rating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Columbia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.