We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun show and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Columbia Restaurant

The Columbia Restaurant
2117 E 7TH Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-3903 (Historic Ybor)
813-248-4961
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Columbia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,878 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Historic Ybor
Cross street: 21st street
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fun show and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were in Tampa for just one night pre cruise and decided to go for dinner and the show. We were running a bit late for our reservation because we waited on the trolley but were still able to be seated. The show started at 7 pm and was very enjoyable. I had a delicious fish dish and my husband and son enjoyed their beef dish but my daughter found her meal too rich. The bread was yummy as well.
All in all a fun way to spend the evening--it looked like ybor city would be a fun area to walk around in but it was too chilly the night we were there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    580
    208
    86
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Cuban Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great food and atmosphere. Perfect to bring out of town guests for a unique meal with Tampa flair and history. Try an evening when flamenco dancers are performing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My family isn't accustomed to eating food like this, so we saw it and had to try it. We didn't have a reservation and the restaurant was very full, but they simply gave us a half-hour time to wait. All of the food was great, although to be honest I cannot remember all of what we ordered.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Skip the Show...Enjoy the Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our 4th visit to The Columbia Restaurant in Tampa and our 1st visit during the show. We went with 2 other couples and were hoping for some entertainment and a nice dinner. The show room was very loud and it was difficult for half of our party to see as their backs were to the stage and the stage wasn't raised up very high. The service was slow and drawn out as the waitstaff tried to manoeuvre around the tables while trying not to interrupt our view. We waited a long time for each course (even though we arrived 30 minutes prior to the show starting) and when the main course was served there was a mixup. 5 of the 6 of us ordered Paella but the waiter's assistant didn't clue in and split the big pan amongst the 6 of us and left. When we pointed this out to our waiter, instead of returning the dish to the kitchen...he asked for everyone's plate back and scraped the dishes until it was divided up between 5 of us. If we hadn't waited so long..we would have complained but we were so hungry and just wanted to eat and go. I'd recommend the restaurant/food without hesitation but the service during the show was lacking and not worth the frustration.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and great show.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went with family members visiting from abroad. The paella, sea food and fish dishes were delicious. The flamenco show included some tango dances and it was marvelous. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Columbia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Columbia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Columbia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.