We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in South Tampa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cappy's Pizzeria

Cappy's Pizzeria
3200 W Bay to Bay Blvd, Tampa, FL 33629
+1 813-835-0785
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 1,962 restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Wanting a cozy place to enjoy a cold beer and a really good pizza, My husband & I opened the original Cappy's while we were still in college. That was almost 19 years ago. Since then, we have been blessed with a fantastic staff- some of whom have moved on to open their own partnership Cappy's stores! With locations in South Tampa (the original), Seminole Heights, St Pete, Brandon, Tampa Palms and Cedar Rapids, Iowa (I know, but it is my home town) we strive to maintain a relaxed, homey atmosphere. We specialize in pizza, but we do serve a mean greek salad, breadsticks and cheesebread. Our philosophy is to keep it simple, and excel in what we do best- which is pizza. We do, however, pride ourselves with an extensive micro/import beer selection. So, come join us for a delicious pie and maybe a beer that you've never heard of. Oh, and bring the kiddos- we are family friendly!
Tampa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza in South Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Great quality pizza at a fair price. Relaxed atmosphere, just remember cash is king ay Cappy's. No credit cards accepted.
The first time we came, we had to run to the ATM (less than 1 mile). Oops!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    40
    12
    2
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza! Cash only.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had the cheesy bread and a Capoy Large pizza. It was yum, the veggies were cooked and cut up pretty small. The cheese bread was garlicky goodness. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Please click your heels 3 times & repeat after me, there's no place like Cappy's, there's no place like Cappy's .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Best pizza in South Tampa, hands down. We love this place, everything from the pizza, to the Greek salads Ana the casual, hipster atmosphere, you just can't go wrong! The staff is friendly, even to kids and the pizza is absolute perfection! The only negatives? They open at 5pm every day (no lunch, whomp whomp....) and will only take checks or cash. Other than that, it's a must try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza place in Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a great family restaurant (Bay to Bay location). The pizza and salads are great, and the ambience is perfect. Excellent service. Wonderful neighborhood restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The BEST pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The restaurant is so cute and vintage. The pizza is amazing! I am from CT and have been missing NY style pizza for the last 25 years. Tonight, I found it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cappy's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cappy's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.