We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eddie & Sam's NY Pizza

Eddie & Sam's NY Pizza
203 E Twiggs St, Tampa, FL 33602-4404 (Downtown)
+1 813-229-8500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,964 restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Pizza, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tallahassee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were in Tampa at an event at the Straz Center. SO inexpensive and DELICIOUS! Had dinner there one night, and went again for lunch with different people the next day because I was obsessed. I don't know the name of the attached Gelato place, but also fabulous. Try the MEAT ROLL or the Chicken Bacon Ranch Pizza!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    97
    26
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't say I didn't warn you!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

There's a first time for everything and this is the first time that I have been totally let down by a TripAdvisor review. We went to Eddie and Sam's one evening for pizza and ziti and I honestly felt as if I could have had better pizza at a food court at the mall. Initially the pizza I received wasn't even hot, they did put it in the oven for a couple of minutes, so the second time it was at least warm. Very underwhelmed with the quality of all of the food. The pizza had a few slices of pepperoni thrown on top, the ziti took forever to arrive and then was so loaded with cheese that there wasn't much in the way of pasta. Keep in mind this is also a restaurant where you have to order and serve yourself. They have one high chair for the entire restaurant. We should have followed our instinct when we first walked in.... and walked out. Live and learn.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunker, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent NY style Pizza in Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you want NY style pizza while visiting downtown Tampa, this is the place you want to eat! Excellent pizza, great value, and friendly service!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Chix Parm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stumbled on this place when attending a show in Tampa. Pizza looked amazing but we had Chix Parm. The parm was $6.95 and it was loaded with Chicken, great sauce, and lots of cheese. The roll was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yep, tastes like NY pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stopped in for lunch at Eddie and Sam's NY Pizza, and so glad I did! Quick and tasty.

Stand in line, and tell them which slices you want from the variety on display. Yes, they are prepared and then they put your slice back in the oven to heat up (only reason I did not give them a 5 star rating). However, you are sitting down and eating less than 10 minutes after you arrive.

Two slices of cheese with a drink was $5.99. At least 10 different varieties to choose from, and I imagine they will also make what you want. The crust was what reminds me of my favorite NY pizza spot, and this was similar. Not exactly the same, but well worth it.

Obviously a hot spot for the lunch crowd, but people moved in an out pretty quickly. Outdoor seating available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eddie & Sam's NY Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eddie & Sam's NY Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.