We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save Room for the Dessert Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House

Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House
1208 S Howard Ave, Tampa, FL 33606
813-251-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,896 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Save Room for the Dessert Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a most satisfying dinner and "tour", we made our way up to the Dessert room. Sitting right near the piano, we were able to make requests (most of which the pianist knew) while enjoying our dessert and coffee. A great ending to a great dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    64
    28
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Separate dessert restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well worth the short walk upstairs to enjoy a complete change of scenery. Molten choc cakes were he best- select he Mac nut ice cream.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing decor and wonderful dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Skip the Bern's Steakhouse dinner, and just come to the Harry Waugh Dessert Room! The ambiance is regal and the desserts are one-of-a-kind! Top service from the waiters, and a whole novel of desserts in the menu!
Fun tip - use the buttons on the wall to choose your own music for your dessert nook! You will see what I mean...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Special Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

You cannot make a reservation for the Dessert Room if you aren't dining at Bern, but you can stop in as a walk-in and see if there is an available table. We went from dinner but saved room for dessert because we wanted to enjoy the experience. We love the decor and the hideaways made out of wine casks. Private and romantic. There is an extensive dessert menu to please all desires. Both desserts we tried, the pineapple cake and the spice cake, were delicious and presented beautifully. Service was friendly and not instrusive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we went up after eating. After a wait were served COLD coffee. Service was VERY slow...
Go there if you have time to wait for them to come by

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.