We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House

Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House
1208 S Howard Ave, Tampa, FL 33606
813-251-2421
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,963 restaurants in Tampa
Price range: $1 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Best deserts ever with a large selection from desert drinks to cakes and pies as well as house made ice cream. One of their signature deserts is a Macadamia Nut Ice Cream, Hot Fudge Sunday. Very secluded seating. You can even phone the piano player and request a song.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    297
    44
    21
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Everything is special at the Dessert Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Really fun way to end an evening. A great cup of coffee and anything sweet on the menu. The atmosphere is delightful and conducive to wonderful conversation.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow, we were there for New Year's Eve and the waiter made us reservations at the dessert room. It was fantastic. I loved the private cubicles, music at the table, and the menu was unbelievable! I can't imagine how they come up with so many things on the menu! Pages and pages of coffees, cheese and desserts! We had a banana dessert (forgot the name of it). It was very enjoyable. Just the experience is awesome! I will definetely go back when I visit Tampa!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious..What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Four of us went upstairs to the Dessert Room after dinner at Bern's. You are in your own little room where you can select the music that you would like to hear. The service was excellent, the menu was varied and you could custom select ice cream flavors for banana splits, sundaes, multiple scoops. There was a variety of drinks. It was delicious and for the service and quality we thought the prices were reasonable. It was an interesting and great place to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“What an awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went with my son after dining at Berns. What a great way to enjoy dessert. You are in your own room with music choices and a menu of sweets beyond anything I have ever seen. Over 3 pages of sweets, a page of cheeses, a page of coffees and more pages of wines. The coffee was excellent (just good old coffee) and roasted on premises. The desserts were absolutely beautifully prepared, completely decadent and very memorable. Our server was great also, came by to make sure we were happy, kept my coffee full, but let us have our space to enjoy the delicious flourless cake with their home made macadamia nut ice cream! I would recommend doing the whole experience, meal at Berns, tour the kitchen and wine cellar, end up here and you have oficially found heaven. Highly recommend this wonderful room!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry Waugh Dessert Room at Bern's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;