We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skipper's Rocks, Inside and Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skipper's Smokehouse

Skipper's Smokehouse
910 Skipper Rd, Tampa, FL 33613
+1 813-971-0666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 1,878 Restaurants in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Caribbean, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Now celebrating 34 smokin' years, this venerable Tampa Bay landmark was purchased by three Air Force buddies in 1980 who met while stationed in Alaska and presumably sought to get as far away from the frozen tundra as possible. In the years since, Skipper's has grown from a small smokehouse takeout operation with a casual Sunday jam to a full-service restaurant and much-loved purveyor of world-class music. The architecture is a smorgasbord of "cracker" and islandy-Key West styles with overturned boats, wooden walkways, large murals dot the landscape while artfully rusted walls contain the sounds of revelry. In the Oyster Bar, a vintage moonshine still hangs over the bar while in the dining room, weathered posters tinted by neon lights add varying hues of color and atmosphere.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skipper's Rocks, Inside and Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Its ramshackle, funky architecture (if you could call it that) belies an amazingly creative kitchen. You'll never get a bad meal here, and you'll find prize-winning taste sensations that have earned national acclaim. The grouper reuben, for example, has been featured more than once on The Food Channel. My own favorite is the basa reuben, while my better half is crazy about the mahi dinners. I've also enjoyed raw oysters in the piano bar and tasty burgers during the outdoor concerts that fill the spacious back yard on most nights. There is no place like it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    84
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Skippers was scarey.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Cobwebs, dust, dirt, needs paint/maintenance and cleaning. Nasty!

Slow service.

Conch fritters over breaded. More conch less frit please.

Ceviche was great!

Please clean the place!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First time here for me...and the last.

We ordered the conch fritters for an appetizer and couldn't wait to take a bite. So disappointing to see hardly any conch in these conch fritters. Complete letdown.

I ordered the Cajun popcorn po-boy and it was decent, nothing to write home about. My two friends both ordered the blackened grouper Rueben and they said they were really great.

Hushpuppies are a love of mine....but not from here. They were terrible. So dry that I finished my drink trying to choke them down. The French fries were equally as bad.

The server was really great though as well as the laid back atmosphere. Maybe other menu items are better...so give it at least one chance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Anniversary Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was Skipper's 33rd anniversary and they had a party to beat all. Bands were a variety of blues, jazz, zydeco and more. They changed the stage every 45 minutes and the best part is that there was no cover. Beer was cold (But as is usual, there is no table service outdoors). The outdoor venue was recently covered and refurbished so sitting outside with misters under the grand oak trees was really nice on a Saturday afternoon. Great job by the owner who went to great lengths (I'm sure), intorduced every act himself and offered a bit of history about them and his place. Bands came from all over the state. People danced and had a great time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Grouper Reuben did not disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We went because we found it to be highlighted by the food network's diners, drive-ins, and dives. We loved it! My boyfriend had the gator ribs, and I the grouper Reuben. Delish! The restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside, although I loved the tree growing up/through the building, I could tell this is likely a great spot to get together with friends at night or on weekends. Wish we could experience that!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Skipper's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skipper's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.