We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food Sunday Mornings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wat Mongkolrata Temple

Wat Mongkolrata Temple
5306 Palm River Road, Tampa, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 89 attractions in Tampa
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai food Sunday Mornings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful temple on the banks of the river. On Sunday mornings from 10:30-2pm there are many folks out there cooking up wonderful food. Soups, pad thai, curry, fried plantains and yams and so much more. Plus it's very inexpensive. Almost everything is under $5. We take a cooler and empty tupperware and have them filled with all sorts of goodies. We ate for a week on about $25 worth of take home.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Sunday mornings there is food at the Temple that can be purchased for a $5 a plate donation. The food is good and the people are friendly. If possible eat at one of the picnic tables facing the river. It is a very peaceful place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Another free activity in the Tampa area. This is a working temple, so you will see monks. The temple is beautiful and you can go inside, but remember to take off your shoes! Very quiet, probably better for adults than kids.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bring an adventurous appetite and Cash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I went with 5 stars for the experience - something I will do again when we return to the area. Lovely and tranquil.
I'd rate the food just shy of a 4, but I am vegetarian. There were performers (children and adult) playing traditional instruments. A small market with vegetables and plants (mostly orchids and cacti, but a sprinkling of several others).

The Short: Thai congregation, Buddhist Temple on the Hillsborough River in the Tampa area. Brunch time on Sundays. Food is good, though selections is limited if you are vegetarian or squeamish/picky with unfamiliar foods. Picnic tables along the river, BEAUTIFUL. The food is pre-prepared or en mass so in my experience the seasoning "is what it is", but the volunteers from the congregation who prepare and serve the food are sensitive to the "American Palate."
Services are held and visitors are welcome to observe quietly from the back.

Important: Get there early for parking ease and food selection; I recommend 10 a.m.

Example offerings: Spring rolls (with meat), rice with curries (several options and fixed to accommodate), noodle soup, unusual fruit salads, grilled meat skewers, lots of desserts (no one in our group sampled any), WHOLE river fish (eyeballs, fins,...) $10 for 2 fish. Bag filled to order with fried sweet potatoes/bananas/taro root for $3 or $5 serving sizes. AND much more.

My only complaint: Is reserved for the disrespectful behavior of only a few of the visiting observers to the worship service who were playing/texting on various devices - and some taking cell phone pictures and chatting continually. I would like to feel more generous and excuse them as not knowing taking pictures inside the temple is inappropriate or playing games or talking, or... but shouldn't everyone know that a worship service is to be treated with respect?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You don't have to be Buddhist to enjoy this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have been there three times and it was great. Its not some place I want to go every week end but for a change and taste of authentic Thi food, its excellent. From the fried banana's to the noodle soup its very reasonable in price and high in quality. If you ever wanted to go to Thailand and can not afford it this is a great way to get a feel for the food. It is a working religious temple so a bit of respect is required but there is no requirement to be of any particular religion. I am an Atheist and never felt the least bit out of place. Parking is limited and its always full. Soup or the rice dishes are the most expensive at 5 dollars each. You can get a sample of fried bananas, sweet potatoes and another root for 3 dollars. Bottled water and coke are a buck. Many things to try from a rice pudding wrapped around a banana slice in a banana leaf to a number of other sweet items. I have not had anything I did not like. Worth the trip, its starts on Sunday at 10 am. You can also take a tour of the temple and don't forget to take your shoes off . This time of year take them off up top so your feet or socks do not get wet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wat Mongkolrata Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wat Mongkolrata Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wat Mongkolrata Temple to your Saves list