We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Floridan Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Floridan Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Floridan Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has been completely restored and has a a lot of potential. We went to Tampa for a long weekend and had forgotten how much fun it can be. The location is good for visiting the Tampa Theater where you can take a tour. It is also good for visiting the Henry Plant Museum. There are a few restaurants near by but it is a little dark for walking in the evening.

There were no bell hops and the hotel restaurants were not serving lunch or dinner when we were there. The interior is beautiful and the rooms comfortable. It appeared that there was not enough business to keep some of the ammenities open which is a shame.

The parking is in the lot by the hotel and we did not have to pay which is a good thing in downtown Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    17
    6
    15
See reviews for
6
24
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The place was nice but I think the company needs to hire a new staff, house keeping coup day speak English, bellman dropped my bag, I couldn't get a hold of house keeping... You get my drift. Don't think I'll be coming back though, my daddy didn't like the atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I made a reservation through Priceline for this property and it was listed as a 3.5 star. When the cab driver laughed and told me it was a one star, I unfortunately found out that was true. I arrived and noticed that the buildings around the hotel had boarded up windows. There was no one outside- it was like a weird ghost town. The parking lot looked like a caged area and it was obviously a sketchy area. I forged ahead and walked in. It was simply awful. It looked like someone had tried to update a dilapidated hotel and ran out of money. I took a look at the room which made me scared I would leave with extra visitors. Avoid this hotel. Priceline for some reason is not open to the reality that this hotel does not qualify as a 3.5 star. I left promptly and got a room at the beautiful Westin only a couple miles away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you want to pretend you are living out the Shining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here on a flyer and got a good one. If you appreciate nostalgia and old architecture you will love this place. Probably not for the kids but definitely bring your lover. Chandeliers, original front desk, original marble, brass rails, crown molding, rod iron railing, and just an eye full. Story I got was ...built in 1927 and was THE place in tampa. Flop house in the 70s. Rent by the hour in the 80s. Condemned for 10 years with homeless building fires indoor on cold nights. Bought by a family and rebuilt themselves over 6 years. Love this place. But you must have the appreciation for old Americana. Elvis stayed here! At least come to the bar for a drink at 6pm with your lady and get an eye full.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Crystal Dining Room at The Floridan is a beautiful venue for a special lunch or dinner. The refinishing of the room to a magnificent sparkle is a treat. The prices are reasonable, service great and food is delicious. At a recent lunch with friends, we remarked that it was like being in The Plaza in NY! The lobby is grand, bars and ballroom look equally special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I enjoyed a very nice dining experience in the hotel's dining room just off the lobby. The menu is very good in providing many options, and the food was fresh, well prepared, and nicely presented in this grand dining room. I had a fish selection which was very good. And the martini was excellent!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The warmth of a B&B but the grandeur of a +5 Star luxury hotel. Expertly renovated, but the true attraction is the pleasant, personal service of ALL of the staff....front desk, bartenders, housekeeping, maintenance, etc. Free parking on site just enhances the relaxing, comfortable atmosphere. Only 9 blocks from the convention center and on the edge of the current re-urbanization, this is a place to "bookmark." I have established the Floridan as our preferred corporate lodging. And I found "Kostos" supportive, friendly, patient, and attentive which explains why every single staff member exuded the same caring attitude.

Room Tip: Try to get the mini-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Floridan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridan Palace Hotel

Address: 905 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floridan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary Floridan, located in the heart of Tampa. Built in 1926, this nineteen story hotel has been brought back to its original grandeur.Indulge yourself in old world charm, met with the modern comforts of today. With an eye for detail and a dash of flair, flawless service and luxury awaits you at every turn. The opening ceremony and ribbon cutting of this iconic landmark took place on July 28, 2012, making the Floridan Palace, once more the “crown jewel” of the city of Tampa. With historical expertise, and detailed craftsmanship, the hotel’s beauty and stature of its original state has been recaptured. The Floridan is one of the few hotels in the Tampa Bay area that is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Floridan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridan Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.