We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built in 1927 cool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Floridan Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Floridan Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Floridan Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   905 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
fort wayne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Built in 1927 cool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here on a flyer and got a good one. If you appreciate nostalgia and old architecture you will love this place. Probably not for the kids but definitely bring your lover. Chandeliers, original front desk, original marble, brass rails, crown molding, rod iron railing, and just an eye full. Story I got was ...built in 1927 and was THE place in tampa. Flop house in the 70s. Rent by the hour in the 80s. Condemned for 10 years with homeless building fires indoor on cold nights. Bought by a family and rebuilt themselves over 6 years. Love this place. But you must have the appreciation for old Americana. Elvis stayed here! At least come to the bar for a drink at 6pm with your lady and get an eye full.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    35
    12
    27
See reviews for
14
42
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Crystal Dining Room at The Floridan is a beautiful venue for a special lunch or dinner. The refinishing of the room to a magnificent sparkle is a treat. The prices are reasonable, service great and food is delicious. At a recent lunch with friends, we remarked that it was like being in The Plaza in NY! The lobby is grand, bars and ballroom look equally special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I enjoyed a very nice dining experience in the hotel's dining room just off the lobby. The menu is very good in providing many options, and the food was fresh, well prepared, and nicely presented in this grand dining room. I had a fish selection which was very good. And the martini was excellent!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The warmth of a B&B but the grandeur of a +5 Star luxury hotel. Expertly renovated, but the true attraction is the pleasant, personal service of ALL of the staff....front desk, bartenders, housekeeping, maintenance, etc. Free parking on site just enhances the relaxing, comfortable atmosphere. Only 9 blocks from the convention center and on the edge of the current re-urbanization, this is a place to "bookmark." I have established the Floridan as our preferred corporate lodging. And I found "Kostos" supportive, friendly, patient, and attentive which explains why every single staff member exuded the same caring attitude.

Room Tip: Try to get the mini-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I booked one of the penthouse rooms in February for a birthday party in May for my husband. I told "Kostos” (not sure of the spelling) one of the managers I was having a party. He gave me a tour of the room and I indicated there would be enough room for all of the people with the balcony (hint, hint, it was a party which indicates a group of people and the fact I needed the balcony should have prompted some questions).

The day before the party, this man filled our coolers (notice plural meaning 3 very large coolers) with ice so we could chill all of our beverages. He even took the coolers upstairs to the room, in which I he saw all of the tables, chairs, beverages and party supplies. The day of the event "Kostos" stopped people from coming up to the room because we were over the allowed number of people. I was never told there was a max number. He was rude and belligerent in the middle of the lobby, raised voice and aggressive body language. Several incoming guests heard this exchange. He was not going to allow the birthday boy and our daughter to come upstairs to the room; he finally relented when a male friend intervened (maybe he is a sexist, who feels he can bully women).

Of course this is not the end of my bad management story. Our party started at 4 and we were told everyone had to leave at 6 because this man was still upset that I had a party and had not informed anyone (there were several phone calls to the hotel prior to the party and once again he carried the ice upstairs!). This was a 50 year olds party without music (because heaven forbid there is a radio or television that worked). I was forced to move the party to the Sapphire Room and ended up paying for drinks for 30 people so "Kostos" made money on the penthouse and on my bar tab of $700.

I reminded all of our 30 friends (and 4 other rooms were booked that night by friends) that even though the party was successful they were to never frequent the Floridan or any of its restaurants or bars and this only because of "Kostos". What an opportunity this man had to earn business from a group who had never experienced the Floridan Hotel Palace.

It is sad when you have staff, who were all very accommodating, are managed by this person who does not have the professionalism to lower his voice in the middle of his lobby, the ability to seek information when he was the person who booked the room for my husband's party, and the competence or skill to correct issues with paying guests.

Someone mentioned that maybe it is a cultural difference but I believe it is just bad manners!

Room Tip: Very old hotel which was remodeled a few years ago. Cleaning is adequate. Subpar, A/C works in som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed a whole month and they made it feel like home! The folks at the front desk were always helpful and friendly. The location is central and I was able to walk to yoga, coffee shops and food. The park is very close by and hosts events on the weekends. I generally felt safe outside, even late at night and felt comfortable running alone in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you need a hotel across the street from Tampa federal court, here it is. For any other reason, forget it. Sketchy area, no security, no hotel staff other than one front desk attendant, one bartender, one restaurant greeter and one waitress. There must be a cook in the back. No room service, no ice, no minibars, no bellmen.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Floridan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridan Palace Hotel

Address: 905 North Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Floridan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary Floridan, located in the heart of Tampa. Built in 1926, this nineteen story hotel has been brought back to its original grandeur.Indulge yourself in old world charm, met with the modern comforts of today. With an eye for detail and a dash of flair, flawless service and luxury awaits you at every turn. The opening ceremony and ribbon cutting of this iconic landmark took place on July 28, 2012, making the Floridan Palace, once more the “crown jewel” of the city of Tampa. With historical expertise, and detailed craftsmanship, the hotel’s beauty and stature of its original state has been recaptured. The Floridan is one of the few hotels in the Tampa Bay area that is on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Floridan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridan Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.