We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Staff & Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% on Weekends
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Superb Staff & Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed for one weekend night. Have visited this hotel a number of times before. Worth going back. Upon arrival our reservation was in order, check in was a breeze. Nice king bed room with large flat panel TV, two telephones, clock radio/cd player, drawers, work/desk area, coffee maker (single cup variety), ironing board, iron, lounge chair. No in-room safes. Ample size bathroom with granite sink top. This time we had a view of the courtyard. Room was immaculate. We are fussy, clean freaks and considered this a very clean room. Compliments to the housekeeping staff. Hotel is next to International Mall with high end shopping galore. Nice fitness room & pool. At night the lobby has wonderful atmosphere with candles lit all around. Great vibe! Enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant Sunday morning. Great food & service. Nothing but good things to say about this hotel & staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    153
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
73
92
31
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

THE best beds anywhere!! very convenient location to the mall, cafe japon sushi, short trip to busch gardens, only about 1 hour from downtown disney also. the room was completely quiet I could not here a thing even in a room on 4th floor overlooking the courtyard there was a prom party and a memorial service with lots of people at both there was no sound at all coming from either event. especially being so close to the airport we didnt hear a single plane. what a great comfortable nights sleep. we also ordered a delicious bottle of champagne and room service breakfast which were both great and convenient

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Beautiful, tropical elegance. Outstanding service and staff. Free airport shuttle every 30 minutes. Only about 10 minutes from airport. Great food, nice meeting / conference facilities. The layout is such that you do not have to walk very much to get anywhere - from rooms, to lobby, to meeting rooms did not require much walking. Beautiful interior courtyard, light and bright. This hotel is attached to a fantastic shopping mall. Quick check in. The rooms are nicely appointed and finished - granite countertops, marble in baths, shaving mirrors, extra large plasma tv's, and very comfortable beds, bedding and feather/down pillows. The rooms and bathrooms are tad small for two people (not much countertop space in bath for example, but adequate). AC worked fine and was quiet. There was a coffee maker in room but no fridge. They charge a daily fee for wireless internet use. Lots of cable channels, some unique. Nice, elegant, quiet hotel. Loved it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Great hotel with excellent facilities and good local aminieties. However if you have not got your own transport do not stya here. We loved it as we could see the Tampa Bay Buccanners Stadium from our room and the pool facilities were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Visited for two nights for a business conference. The hotel was nothing that blew me away, but overall, was perfectly adequate. Not much interaction with the staff, but they seemed on top of things. Room was clean and wasn't run down. The Italian restaurant bills itself as one of the best in Tampa. It was good, but not spectacular.

Overall, if you want a place near the airport, this is a very good bet. They host a lot of conventions here so if you are in town for that, the hotel is perfect. Basically, if you are expecting the Four Seasons, you will be dissappointed, but definitely met my expectations for the trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Stayed here 3 nights for a business meeting. Fantastic location convenient to airport and next to Internatinal Plaza and great restaurants.

Service is fantastic at this hotel. Staff is great. I forgot some toiletries from home which they didn't have and Jimmy the driver took me to a drugstore and waited. Everyone was very helpful when I had questions, etc. Also great during our meeting. Very attentive. Free shuttle to airport and to close by spots.

Rooms, very nicely appointed. The bed is extremely comfortable. I normally don't sleep well the first night, no problem here. My room was 2 double beds, large HD TV and had a mini-fridge which was convenient. Very nice bathroom and Aveda toiletries.

Fitness/Pool: Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Fitness room is 24 hour and the only disappointment. For the size of hotel and number of business clientele, this was inadequate. The equipment is good, but not enough, space is very tight, no mats and no where to stretch and do your core work. It was crowded even at night while I was there.

Food: Great hotel food during our business meeting, especially lunch. Pelagio is nice but I have had better Italian food. Ate at the House of Japon in the restaurant area next to the hotel. Great Sashimi and Sushi here, very fresh.

Mall shopping: all the high end stores are here: Gucci, Coach, Burberry, Kate Spade, Neiman Marcus, Tiffany's, etc.

Didn't leave the area, but I heard that it is convenient to other parts of Tampa. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We visited this hotel on Nov 7th for a short stay to watch the Bucs play before heading home to the UK following a vacation in Anna Maria Island. The hotel was fabulous, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The location is ideal for the football stadium, we were impressed with the shuttle service that the hotel organised to and from the game. It is also an ideal location for shopping and dining as there is a mall adjacent to the hotel with lots of designer stores and an excellent choice of restaurants to choose from. We will definately stay here again when visiting the Tampa Bay area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.