We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok for a Marriott.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #11 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just ok for a Marriott.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in...pretty smooth. Pool ok...outdoor and warm. Staff very helpful. We were there when the TB Bucs were playing..
Makes for intresting elevator rides...the place is newer, clean, and in pretty good shape..
The rooms are a bit small and (of course) windows don't open and there are no balconies. No real complaints but nothing really special either....

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your review .... we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    153
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
73
92
31
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night after deciding to start our vacation a day early. We needed a place close to the airport, with a shuttle because we were picking up a rental car the next morning at the airport. Like most Renaissance hotels, the Tampa International Plaza feels like you are at home. The lobby was very comfortable and felt like a giant living room. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. The front desk was very friendly. However, the best attribute of this hotel is being adjacent to International Plaza. Great shops and restaurants, allowing us great options for dinner and shopping for those ever so essential last minute vacation items.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for reviewing your recent visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located near Tampa International Airport and is adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My usual tampa hotel was booked up so I tried the nearby renaissance. Fantastic location in international plaza. Service was exceptional. Bed was perfectly comfortable. Only cons: parking lot was confusing and the Mediterranean theme was a bit tired. Had a fantastic stay and will return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel does a great job with the little extras to help you enjoy your stay even more. Fabulous duvets on the bed are super cozy. A terry robe for after shower or swimming. It really was simply lovely and perfectly located next to great restaurants and excellent shopping. Only drawbacks were the small pool (not ideal for kids) and the confusing TV setup that makes it impossible to find local or network channels.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are delighted that your stay was enjoyable! Your feedback is extremely valuable because everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My professional organization had our annual conference again at this hotel after skipping it last year. I was SO HAPPY to be back. Hotel is great, rooms are wonderful, beds comfortable, food excellent. Location awesome. I didn't have to use my car once in 4 days to have awesome meals, and shop: the hotel is next to International mall: Apple Store, clothing, shoes, Bose.... anything you want. Many great restaurants (Brio our fave). Pelagia (hotel restaurant) is EXCELLENT!!!
Staff is friendly and professional.
THIS HOTEL IS CONSISTENT OVER THE LAST 9 years!!!! No signs of wear, everything great.
I normally always find a negative, so here you are: they keep conference rooms at 67F. I bring winter clothes. Unnecessary waste of energy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It's wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your visits for the past 9 years! As you stated, our hotel is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota Fla
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Renaissance at the International Plaza is a perfect place to stay when visiting Tampa. It is literally adjacent to the International Mall. More importantly, to me anyway, is that it abuts the plaza abutting the International Mall that contains upscale bars and restaurants, including a Capital Grille, Bar Louie, Cheesecake Factory, Blue Martini, The Pub, and several others. You can get good craft beers, Sushi, good Italian Food, a good steak, etc. all to choose from in the same little area. The Mall is great, and of course the kids love the Apple store. The area is very close to the airport, to the Tampa Bay Buc's stadium and pretty close to downtown. We prefer staying at the Renaissance over staying downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located near Tampa International Airport and is adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has it all. The location is perfect. It is adjacent to a beautiful mall w great dining. It is also a short drive to food and drug stores. It is close to a highway so there is easy access to all. The airport is a five minute drive. We have stayed at a few others and this wins hands down.
The service is impeccable. We had an issue w concierge and dates for some tickets. Amy and Debbie were quick to resolve. Truly a great representation of the hotel brand. The front desk is helpful and very friendly. The woman who works the Starbuck's stand in the hotel is an institution. She remembers us each year and seems to be a favorite among other guests. Housekeeping was top notch.
The rooms were standard but well thought out w lighting and outlets. The only gripe was the charge for in room internet. The lobby area has free wifi and there are computers in the business center.
The ambiance of this hotel is fun and exciting. There is a reason the pro sports teams call this home. There is an energy at this hotel that the hotels lack. This is our favorite annual mini vacation very much in part due to this hotel. Book early because it fills quickly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for the SPECTACULAR review! We’re delighted that the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel is your hotel of choice in Tampa and that you always enjoy the services and amenities provided. As you stated, our location is ideally located near Tampa International Airport and is adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores and full service restaurants. Your kind words about Amy, Debbie and Lynn were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.