We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, Comfort and Convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quality, Comfort and Convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Recently I stayed at the Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza attending a business conference there. My visit was outstanding. A colleague would tell another story. But in fairness it was not entirely the hotel's fault. During our three days there was one night where half of the hotel lost power. It was uncomfortable for those guests and I was told by another colleague that the hotel made arrangements to have those guest transported to another hotel. I hear that ended up being a mess, but that's hearsay.

What I do know is this, the rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. They are either very well insulated or I was treated with polite neighbors because I heard nothing from the adjoining rooms.

I also enjoyed having several quality restaurants (i.e., The Pub, Brio, and others) basically attached to the hotel. Right behind the hotel there is a courtyard where there are several restaurants and stores. Also there is a very nice, upscale mall there to walk off your dinner. This is all within a very short walking distance.

For anyone looking for a place in the Tampa area to hold your seminar, conference, or a business meeting, having a choice of quality restaurants this close means your attendees can enjoy a nice lunch without having to fight traffic to get back and you know they will be back in time for the second half of your event. Additionally, as I walked around, I saw various sizes of conference/ballrooms which should hold any size business event.

If you're planning to visit Tampa, be it business or pleasure, the Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza is very much worth considering for a quality and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much for the spectacular review! In spite of the power outage, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    175
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
85
103
34
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on 18 July as a one night stop over on route to Orlando. The hotel was clean with comfortable beds. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the airport, shopping and nightlife. I could have easily spent a few days there expploing Tampa which looks an interesting city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the review of your recent visit. I was delighted to hear that your stay with the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel could not be more convenient for someone flying into Tampa for a meeting. First it is adjacent to the International Airport and offers a free shuttle bus back and forth. Second, it is connected to a huge mall, International Plaza, and a restaurant row, B Street, that has a wide selection of casual restaurants as well as a few high-end places for business entertainment, Capital Grill for example. You never need a car. Everything is a few steps away.

Rooms are good and Concierge lounge had an excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Try for 8th Floor facing the airport. This is also the floor for the Concierge Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

First off we are MARRIOTT Gold members and this is one of our favorite hotels in the Tampa area. Staff is excellent rooms are excellent the only problem is the lounge hours can be picky. This is a very luxurious hotel and we have stayed here multiple times and will continue to do so. I recommend this hotel to EVERYONE because of its charm!.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a SPECTACULAR review! I was delighted to hear that you always enjoy the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As a repeat guest and Marriott Gold Member, we certainly value your patronage …. everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service on your future visits. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel (2 rooms) for a family trip to Busch Gardens Tampa. It was an amazing hotel. The whole hotel has beautiful Spanish decor and is very inviting. The rooms were comfortable and very nice. Only thing missing was the bathrobe that has been in every other Renaissance hotel I have stayed in. The restaurant has received very many awards. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was the best breakfast buffet that I have ever had at a Renaissance. We will definitely book it for our next trip to Tampa!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of your recent visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We are Hilton people but we really wanted to try something new. We stayed just one nights but were impressed enough. We loved Avedo products in bathroom, plus high quality towels. Perfect location for shopping and dining. Hotel staff was very friendly, starting with front desk associate who checked us is, valet asking if we need any directions and for housekeeping welcoming us. Great stay

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! I am pleased that your first stay at a Marriott property was enjoyable. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed during a long holiday weekend and enjoyed the local amenities. The hotel is attached to what I consider to be the best shopping mall in Tampa and surrounded by some of the top dining options in the city.
Visit the mall concierge and request a "Shopping Passport" (may need to show room key) - it provides exclusive discounts and freebies...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.