We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All About Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% on Weekends
Ranked #13 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
“It's All About Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great property, excellent gym, and good sized pool. This is a fantastic hotel for many reasons, but the most important of all is the service provided by the staff. From the front desk to to the concierge lounge, they do their utmost to make sure your stay is pleasant. In particular, I'd like to thank Elaine for her warm greetings and superior service day in and day out. You are the reason we keep coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are delighted that your visits to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel are always enjoyable. Your kind words about Elaine were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team - our Ambassadores take great pride in providing excellent service. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    152
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
73
90
31
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Front desk staff inexperienced.
Pelagia restaurant food good
but repetitive loud music was very distracting and dined there 2 nights and same music played over and over and never changed. Would not go back again unless management changed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. What you experienced is not typical and certainly not up to our high quality standards. We always strive to provide top notch services and amenities and it is very discouraging when we fall short of that goal. You can be assured that your comments have been reviewed with the appropriate staff members in order to prevent a reoccurrence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I hate to give this kind of review but I'll have to be honest. This hotel was just OKAY. The lobby looks great and location is amazing as it is attached to to the nice mall with decent restaurants. Before arrival, I spoke with someone regarding the romantic package being set up in the room to surprise the husband. It wasn't there and once I called downstairs to ask about it, he heard me. I cancelled it but they brought it upstairs anyways and said it was on the house. Nice gesture but they were not very apologetic. The lady at the desk was kind of rude. Also, I asked about a possible upgrade. I was on the floor with a bunch of screaming girls so they moved us up to another floor. I felt kind of down because we couldn't even toast to a great weekend when we got in the room.

The ultimate embarrassment was the next afternoon housekeeping knocked on the door and we declined. 5 mins later someone just busts in the room while we were having sex (tmi but we're all grown here). I was so ashamed cause the guy didn't even turn around right away. Apparently they don't communicate with one another in housekeeping. A lady knocked on the door but a houseman walked in. I was mortified. They told my husband they would give him a gift card to use anywhere. Sure enough it was a gift card for the hotel only. We never want to stay there agin or any other marriot so we extended an extra night to use the gift card. We were getting promises the entire weekend that just didn't happen. Never again for us. We travel quite a bit and I've never had this kind of experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing Anniversary weekend at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. What you experienced is not typical and certainly not up to our high quality standards. We always strive to provide top notch services and amenities and it is very discouraging when we fall short of that goal. You can be assured that your comments have been reviewed with the appropriate staff members to prevent a reoccurrence in the future. We hope that you will reconsider and allow us to welcome you back when your travels bring you to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Here for five days. This hotel was a perfect choice. Nice room, great bedding and it was quiet in the room.

Arrived back at the hotel late each night and had to park in the mall parking lot - not awful just "different". They do charge for internet $12.99 per day. Without that additional charge I would have given the hotel a 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that your stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I travel a lot and stayed at numerous hotels across the States. I have got to say this has to be one of the best so far. Staff were so friendly and very attentive. Lobby was exceptional. The pool and fitness room were up to date. The rooms were very clean and fresh. We dined at the restaurant and the food was amazing. In all a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel, great service, friendly staff and attentive of our needs, very clem rooms and fresh. the lobby was exceptional , pool and fitting room up to date. Outside patio very nice. Rooms are very big. Hall ways well lit and carpet clean & fresh, no bad smells. Convenient location for dinner, just steps away, I mean only steps away for the International Mall. The stay was great I recommend this hotel, and price was just right. I gave this Hotel a 4 star because they charge you $12.00 a day for Internet access and other low class hotels don't even charge you but this hotel does, to bad HUH!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We are delighted that your visit was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Absolutely loved my most recent stay here. Now stayed four times. Always a very friendly concierge and front desk staff. Lovely bright rooms with very comfortable beds. Perfectly located for the International Mall with many choices of great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank for your review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#13 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#15 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.