We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elaine makes my mornings special.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Minneapolis
1 review
“Elaine makes my mornings special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at the Renaissance for the last 26 weeks for business. Besides the great location, the staff in the concierge lounge is too-notch. Every morning, Elaine ensures that I have a great experience in the lounge. She is a large part of the reason why I continue to stay at the Renaissance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the review! We are delighted that you are a repeat guest at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel mainly because of the great service provided by Elaine … we will be sure to relay your wonderful comments to her. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    144
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
69
88
30
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a very very nice welcome from Amy.
The hotel has a very Spanish feel about it having stayed in the Marriott Marbella on numerous occasions.
A nice selection in the club level lounge for breakfast, unlike European lounges the drinks are limited to non alcoholic, we did know this prior to arrival.
We also knew that wi-fi is limited to the lobby unless you are willing to pay, which as many have mentioned.
You are adjacent to the mall and a wide variety of bars and restaurants.
A very enjoyable stay and we would return next time we are in Tampa.

Room Tip: Club level rooms are on high floors with lovely views of the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. Your kind words about Amy were very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. As you stated, our location is is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just stayed here for our 44Th wedding anniversary. As a Marriott Gold elite, I always hope for a complimentary upgrade. These people REALLY know how to treat their elite guest. As a anniversary gift we were upgraded to a Beautiful suite.
We had a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant, with some wine. My husband worked out in the gym, the next morning, and we shopped in the mall. Next day we boarded out train to Hollywood Florida. Perfect stay. Large clean rooms wonderful staff. Great food

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors facing courtyard, usually quieter. However hotel is well built, most street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to play a part in making your anniversary a memorable one!

Your feedback is extremely valuable because everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Renaissance is a solid choice for Tampa area travelers. Less than 10 minutes from the Tampa airport, walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Rooms were great. Really liked everything about it except for two things - please provide free water and wi-fi, it is 2014, not 1974.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We are delighted that your visit was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Close to the airport and the International Plaza mall but beyond that, you will have to drive to get to places. The mall is convenient and offers a lot of dining options and great shopping. I used the gym a few times - the equipment was in good condition, no one was ever there, and there is water + earphones and towels (mainly for the pool right outside). The staff were all courteous and their room service breakfast was decent - they have soy milk and lots of healthy choices. Heard great things about the Pelagio restaurant but did not dine there. The rooms were, in my opinion, a bit outdated and a little garish with the colors used and the overall decorations/atmosphere but the spacious bathroom was appreciated. Had to pay like, $7.99 for 24 hours of WiFi which was a little outrageous. Checkout in the morning was crowded and took a while.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Flew in from the UK and decided to overnight in Tampa. The staff at the airport were refreshingly pleasant and for the first time in some 30 odd visits to the US security actually called me by my first name. The warmth of the people of Tampa was maintained in the shuttle bus at at reception. All very pleasant, professional and helpful. The hotel rooms are very comfortable though you do have to pay for WFI in the room but it is free in the lobby. The hotel is surrounded by great bars and restaurants and is a great place to start a visit in the US. We will come back to this hotel and continue to use Tampa as a starting point.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is is ideally located near Tampa International Airport and adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, full service restaurants, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Hotel on your future visits to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel.
Went for a conference, and stayed for three nights. Great staff, great rooms and great restaurant.
Next to a huge shopping mall, so easy to do shopping and lots of other alternatives to eat throughout the day and evening

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel was enjoyable. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.