We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #18 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

The Renaissance is connected to the International Plaza, a relatively upscale shopping mall with plenty of shops and several very fine restaurants. I went with my wife and two teenagers--our 2 nights there we ate at Cheesecake Factory and California Pizza Kitchen (lots more than just pizza)-both very nice. The hotel room was larger than average, and had a view of the airport--sound insulation was perfect--we could see planes taking off but couldn't hear a thing. Beds were comfy, A/C very good and quiet, big bathroom with nice tub and shower (toilet that was also very quiet--nice for the middle of the night!). We drove to the zoo (15 minutes) and Busch Gardens (also 15 minutes)--very convenient.
The hotel restaurant was also very nice, and the atmosphere was quiet and refined, but not snooty. This would be a great place for families, couples (the courtyard and restaurants looked very romantic, but with the kids we didn't do much about that)--definitely a great place to stay for a weekend getaway.

  • Liked — too many bests
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    172
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
81
100
34
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Husband, I and 14 year old daughter recently stayed here for 3 nights. Chose hotel based on reviews written here and we were not disappointed.

Room was reasonable size with 2 queen beds, and free internet connection. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good positon next to a large shopping mall and a good selection of restaurants. Would recommend Toojays for breakfast.

Nice swimming pool which was never crowded with plenty of sunloungers.

The only thing the room could have done with would have been a fridge. There was space for one under the coffee maker, but for some reason there wasn't one there.

  • Liked — Near to shops and restaurants
  • Disliked — Lack of fridge
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We have stayed at this property many times and it is always perfect. the staff is EXCELLENT and the hotel clean and comfortable. The management must do a great job because all the employees seem to enjoy their jobs and it shows. Don't hesitate to stay here. the added bonus is the GREAT mall only a few steps away!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila Pa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

Just returned from Tampa. We choose this hotel for several reasons and it worked out very well for us. This really is a business hotel, which we had to keep in mind. We traveled with two children. We always need to have a hotel with a good pool. Aside from location, that is one of the main reasons that we chose this hotel. Many of the Tampa hotels really seem to lack a good pool. This pool was a good size and had a nice pool area but it wasn't maintained as nice as we would have liked. It was very nice on our first day but it didn't appear to be cleaned again for another two days. Too many things floating in it for me. I should have probably said something but we were pretty busy outside the hotel. As for the rooms, very nice and very clean. The hotel was well kept and the people working there were very helpful and pleasant. It has a great mall attached to it with many food options. As for the location, it was perfect for what we wanted to do. Close to Busch Gardens, St Petersburg & Clearwater Beach. We would stay here again if back in the area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

Extremely helpful staff. Very friendly place to stay. Location is good close to things without being in the middle of everything. Smoked a cigar,sat in a rocker in the courtyard with a cocktail life is good.

  • Liked — Room was lovely, olives were great
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed at this property for one night last week. The valet was nice enough to let me park in the driveway while I checked in and dropped off my suitcase as I was leaving right away for the ballpark

Check in was prompt and painless. My room was in great shape. I had a minor problem with the TV. Engineering came up to fix it within 10 minutes. Good quality linens in the bathroom. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

The Renaissance is a horrible hotel for travelers who need good cellular or VPN connectivity - and the staff doesn't care that you cannot work or keep in touch from the hotel!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of cellular signal
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#18 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.