We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi For Members
Ranked #9 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Liked this hotel a lot. Great for meetings. Plenty of rooms and excellent meeting food. For non-business travelers, great feature is location to mall, which is basically out the front door. Countless good restaurants in the immediate vicinity as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NittanyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location isideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was what I needed. The front desk staff was amazing. Luis was very helpful. I enjoyed my time here. I WOULD definitely return! It is as central a location that you can have while spending time in the Tampa Bay area!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaShotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled to hear that our Front Desk staff was accommodating to all of your needs. As you stated, our location is centrally located to numerous Tampa Bay attractions. Thanks again for your feedback .... we look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here while on a shopping trip to Tampa. (we don't live in the US!) This is the perfect location to stay if you don't want to hire a car. It is in international mall, which is a high end mall and a short cab ride to West shore mall which is a 'regular' mall. There are some very nice restaurants steps away and they serve starbucks coffee at the lobby cafe :) The staff are very friendly. We were very happy with our weekend stay at the Renaisssance in Tampa, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caymananna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I was attending a business meeting while at this hotel. This was a great location because of the shopping area next door and additional restaurants upstairs. The décor of the hotel had a southwestern flare which was different for a location in Florida. Never thought I would comment on an elevator but the elevator décor was beautiful in that it wasn’t the typical mirrors. There was a rod iron design at the back of the elevator which made it very unique and appealing. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. I want to commend the restaurant staff for accommodating my dietary needs during this visit. They went above and beyond to find something for me to eat each day I was there and I appreciate them. Great meeting location or weekend getaway trip..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sap811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel and that our restaurant staff was able to accommodate your dietary needs. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

What a wonderful hotel and staff. The location being literally steps to a fantastic mall was very convenient. Restaurants were very accommodating even though it was during the Christmas holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smc0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina H, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for your great review! We are delilghted that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff and the amenities offered by the hotel. As you stated, our location ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's a nice hotel, nothing more nothing less. The Executive Lounge has friendly staff, but don't go for the food (yeah, even breakfast). Try Bar Louie in the attached mall, it has 40+ beers on tap and above average bar food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great hotel. We had a challenge with the TV in our room. Turned out it was the outlet in the wall not the TV. Had Tommy come look at - we all thought it was fixed then it went out again. Tommy came back with Alan and after moving furniture and using flashlights they figured out it was the wall outlet. Very patient gentlemen!! Alan gave us a free movie for the inconvenience, it was actually their inconvenience of having to come back a second time but they solved the problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lea6467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Marriott Tampa Airport
#10 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Tampa
#21 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Epicurean Hotel
#4 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Tampa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing