We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is modern, clean and very convenient to the airport. It is part of a large shopping center so there is plenty of shopping you can do if you have down time. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is very helpful. I don't hesitate to stay there when I'm in Tampa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    175
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
85
103
34
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a nice hotel, and my room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. Still a fairly standard room for a hotel in this price range. The king bed was really appreciated. While some rooms probably have nice views, mine looked at the parking desk. Service was good.

What made this hotel more than average was the fabulous restaurant! Lots of choices nearby, but the dinner and buffet breakfast were unusually wonderful for hotel food.

Location is also excellent. Next to a shopping center with great restaurants, and very near the airport and the stadiums. A great hotel choice for shoppers and sports fans.

Turned out my night coincided with the Tampa Bay/Carolina Panthers game. Believe the Panthers were also in residence for the night. Increased security and players signing autographs made for an unique experience. Later, as the fans returned, it also made for some noise after the game.

A very good option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This property has partnered with the Candy Hall of Fame for many years. The Renaissance team bends over backwards to make sure everything is perfect. We were housed in an Access Room as it had a King Size bed. Spanish style decor and ambiance make this hotel special. The LaFuente Courtyard is the perfect spot for a function that encourages mingling. The banquet facility was large enough to COMFORTABLY accommodate nearly 400 guests for the Candy Hall of Fame inductions. The food was good and I'll leave it at that as I'm not a fan of braised short ribs. Another highlight is the in house restaurant, Pelagia, which is above average. The International Mall adjoins the property offering world class shopping and dining options. If you're flying to Tampa and are not renting a car the hotel will have their shuttle arrive pretty darn quick. Believe me, this place is great!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Big room, super convenient location only minutes to the airport and within walking distance to dining and shopping. The hotel is strangely very quiet given the proximity to the airport.The staff was very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nice hotel in great location. Connected to International Mall and outdoor plaza with ~20 or so restaurants and bars. 5 min from Tampa airport.
Very nice rooms, great service and friendly staff. At times parking could be a challenge due to popularity of mall and restaurants, but that just means a 2 minute walk. Well worth the effort as a very nice hotel and very close to Tampa attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I originally booked a room at the Marriott Waterside and stayed there one night. Unfortunately, I had a terrible allergic reaction. I have never had a better response by the staff. When I asked if I could check out early, not only did they allow me to do this, they deducted any charges for my one night there. This left me in Tampa with no reservations and concern about the possibilities. I stopped by the Renaissance and explained my predicament to the manager at the front desk. Without skipping a beat, he created a key card and invited me to check out a room! I discovered a beautiful room without any unpleasant issues. I eagerly signed in. Not only was the hotel wonderful, the staff was terrific! The bellman was eager to help me find a place for supper. He suggested the Cheesecake Factory and showed me how to get to the plaza (a walk down the hall - that's it!). what a lovely choice of restaurants and shops. Beautiful music and lights. After a delightful meal, I made my way back to my hotel room. Once inside, I was greeted with a tray of organic teas and snacks. The manager had left me a note hoping that I was feeling better and to contact him if I needed anything. Needless to say, I awoke refreshed and happy. I had purchased the free breakfast and enjoyed a breakfast of fresh fruit (super fresh and delish) and the best omelette I have ever had. This is now my go-to hotel in Tampa. I have traveled all over the world at some of the finest hotels there are. This hotel is right up there with the best of the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, PA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for three nights to attend a conference being held at the hotel. It's close to the airport (free shuttles run every 30 minutes) and sits aside a large mall. If you don't shop, the outer edge of the mall has a wide selection of restaurants and bars, so you never have to leave the general complex. The room was fine, although the work area was a little small. The room was cleaned at an appropriate time and the overall condition of the room was both well decorated and clean. The food at the meeting was very good for a business meeting and the staff seemed genuinely intent on keeping everyone happy. I never made it to downtown Tampa, but still had great meals at the Cheesecake Factory, Capital Grille and the English Pub next to the hotel. I had no problem, but several of the meeting attendees had trouble checking in as their rooms weren't ready till 4pm.

Room Tip: Don't expect to check in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.