We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 159 hotels in Tampa
naples
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Large clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Big room, super convenient location only minutes to the airport and within walking distance to dining and shopping. The hotel is strangely very quiet given the proximity to the airport.The staff was very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    144
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
70
88
30
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very nice hotel in great location. Connected to International Mall and outdoor plaza with ~20 or so restaurants and bars. 5 min from Tampa airport.
Very nice rooms, great service and friendly staff. At times parking could be a challenge due to popularity of mall and restaurants, but that just means a 2 minute walk. Well worth the effort as a very nice hotel and very close to Tampa attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I originally booked a room at the Marriott Waterside and stayed there one night. Unfortunately, I had a terrible allergic reaction. I have never had a better response by the staff. When I asked if I could check out early, not only did they allow me to do this, they deducted any charges for my one night there. This left me in Tampa with no reservations and concern about the possibilities. I stopped by the Renaissance and explained my predicament to the manager at the front desk. Without skipping a beat, he created a key card and invited me to check out a room! I discovered a beautiful room without any unpleasant issues. I eagerly signed in. Not only was the hotel wonderful, the staff was terrific! The bellman was eager to help me find a place for supper. He suggested the Cheesecake Factory and showed me how to get to the plaza (a walk down the hall - that's it!). what a lovely choice of restaurants and shops. Beautiful music and lights. After a delightful meal, I made my way back to my hotel room. Once inside, I was greeted with a tray of organic teas and snacks. The manager had left me a note hoping that I was feeling better and to contact him if I needed anything. Needless to say, I awoke refreshed and happy. I had purchased the free breakfast and enjoyed a breakfast of fresh fruit (super fresh and delish) and the best omelette I have ever had. This is now my go-to hotel in Tampa. I have traveled all over the world at some of the finest hotels there are. This hotel is right up there with the best of the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for three nights to attend a conference being held at the hotel. It's close to the airport (free shuttles run every 30 minutes) and sits aside a large mall. If you don't shop, the outer edge of the mall has a wide selection of restaurants and bars, so you never have to leave the general complex. The room was fine, although the work area was a little small. The room was cleaned at an appropriate time and the overall condition of the room was both well decorated and clean. The food at the meeting was very good for a business meeting and the staff seemed genuinely intent on keeping everyone happy. I never made it to downtown Tampa, but still had great meals at the Cheesecake Factory, Capital Grille and the English Pub next to the hotel. I had no problem, but several of the meeting attendees had trouble checking in as their rooms weren't ready till 4pm.

Room Tip: Don't expect to check in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while on a business trip.

I was allowed to check in early, which is always a nice bonus. I was given a room on the 7th floor, which is one of the concierge floors since I have Gold status with Marriott.

The room was a good size and nicely decorated. There was a beautiful numbered framed photo in the bathroom (not the typical cheap print that you see in many hotels). There was a safe in the closet, along with the robe. There was also a refrigerator and coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and stocked with lots of Aveda bath products (including their wonderful shower gel). The only tiny negative to the room was that the desk chair was upholstered and the arms were worn down and threadbare.

The fitness center is located right off the lobby and is open 24/7. There were 4 ellipticals, 2 bikes, numerous treadmills, and lots of weight equipment. There were also lots of towels, earbuds, water, and sanitizing wipes. The elliptical that I used was in great working condition. I had a chance to use the pool for laps one morning. It's nice that the pool opens at 6:00 a.m. for the business traveler. The pool is a very decent size, and even though the hotel is located in a mall complex, the pool felt like an oasis. There were lots of palm trees and other lovely plants. There is also a very large jacuzzi that I enjoyed using after the swim. There is a outdoor shower for rinsing off, too.

I only was able to use the concierge breakfast (on the 8th floor) on one morning. It was very well stocked with juices and water, along with such treats as bagels and lox. There were several hot items, too, including scrambled eggs (which were delicious) and sausage.

The hotel is very convenient to numerous restaurants in the adjacent mall. Of course, it is also less than a 10 minute drive to the airport. They provide an airport shuttle, but the cab fare is only $15 and they will call a cab for you if you can't wait around for the shuttle.

All in all, this is the perfect hotel for a business traveler in Tampa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel lobby and restaurants are nicely decorated, clean, and modern, and there is an attractive inner courtyard. The location next to the International Plaza Mall was big plus for us for late night dining and cocktails as we attended an event that got us back to the hotel after their restaurant and bar were closed. The room was very clean and well appointed and the Renaissance/Marriot beds and bedding are oh so comfy! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay here again if we are back in this part of Tampa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is attached to a nice mall and restaurants, good location. Also very close to airport. Clean lobby and friendly staff. No complaints here. We moved rooms from single bed to two and second room was much roomier.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the convenience of International Plaza Mall and Bay Street. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.