We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Longboat Key, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel lobby and restaurants are nicely decorated, clean, and modern, and there is an attractive inner courtyard. The location next to the International Plaza Mall was big plus for us for late night dining and cocktails as we attended an event that got us back to the hotel after their restaurant and bar were closed. The room was very clean and well appointed and the Renaissance/Marriot beds and bedding are oh so comfy! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay here again if we are back in this part of Tampa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    164
    34
    12
    4
See reviews for
79
97
31
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, MS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is attached to a nice mall and restaurants, good location. Also very close to airport. Clean lobby and friendly staff. No complaints here. We moved rooms from single bed to two and second room was much roomier.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the convenience of International Plaza Mall and Bay Street. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed her for one night before our flight home from Tampa.The staff were very efficient and pleasant, our room was clean and comfortable. We were able to walk to the International Plaza Mall for a choice of restaurants and shopping. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Although you were here for a short time we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza for four nights while exploring the Tampa area for possible relocation. (We had initially booked a B&B up in Lithia which I would not recommend. Based on TripAdvisor reviews I called from our "sorry" room at the B&B to inquire about availability at the Renaissance for the following 4 nights, and fortunately for us, they did have a room available.) The hotel staff, including front desk personnel, cleaning staff, and bartender, were all extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby was very nice with plenty of chairs to relax and chess and tic tac toe boards scattered about. There was also a pleasant little courtyard which unfortunately, we didn't have time to use. Our room was immaculate, and the bed and pillows were very fluffy and comfortable. The little night light under the bathroom vanity was a nice touch. The hotel is attached to the International Plaza Mall which was very convenient for finding places to eat. The hotel restaurant looked very nice, but most nights we had to grab a quick bite for breakfast or dinner, so we found places in the plaza rather than eat at the hotel. We did visit the bar area on our last night, and it was cozy. If we need to visit Tampa again for a house-hunting trip, we will definitely stay at the Renaissance Hotel.

Room Tip: As with most Marriott properties, free wi-fi is only available in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We thank you so much for the great review. We are pleased to hear we were able to turn your trip to Tampa around and you will be returning in the future. The hotel does have a lot to offer but the convenience of International Plaza Mall, Bay Street and the airport can make this location fun. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and we wish you luck with your house hunting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in November of 2012 and found it to be a very nice hotel. Comfortable, good service and convenient to the airport, shopping and restaurants. I recently have been forced to find other hotels as this hotel has become greatly overpriced. There are several comparable hotels in the same area for half the cost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We appreciate the great review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the convenience of International Plaza Mall, Bay Street and the airport. We do look forward to your next stay when in Tampa and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

nothing much has changed from my prior review, but I must add one thing that really bugs me. that is the rooms have NO wall or drawer safes to store valuables. big oversight! the location hasn't changed and the hotel is still clean.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your return stay with us and appreciate your loyalty. We do have a few options for safes at the hotel. All you have to do is inquire with a front desk ambassador at check-in. Thank you again for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from a wedding weekend stay at the Renaissance Tampa International and it was great! It's a lovely facility and the rooms were very comfortable and well kept. The staff could not have been nicer or more attentive and accommodating. Just wish I could have stayed another night to explore the adjacent mall. Excellent experience overall!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are very thankful for your great review!! It is always a pleasure to hear the staff was so accommodating, helpful and nice to assist in making your stay so enjoyable. We do look forward to your next visit so you can experience shopping at International Plaza Mall, dining in Bay Street and discovering the amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.