We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“update” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

nothing much has changed from my prior review, but I must add one thing that really bugs me. that is the rooms have NO wall or drawer safes to store valuables. big oversight! the location hasn't changed and the hotel is still clean.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your return stay with us and appreciate your loyalty. We do have a few options for safes at the hotel. All you have to do is inquire with a front desk ambassador at check-in. Thank you again for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    143
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
68
88
30
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from a wedding weekend stay at the Renaissance Tampa International and it was great! It's a lovely facility and the rooms were very comfortable and well kept. The staff could not have been nicer or more attentive and accommodating. Just wish I could have stayed another night to explore the adjacent mall. Excellent experience overall!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are very thankful for your great review!! It is always a pleasure to hear the staff was so accommodating, helpful and nice to assist in making your stay so enjoyable. We do look forward to your next visit so you can experience shopping at International Plaza Mall, dining in Bay Street and discovering the amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is the only hotel we stay at when visiting Tampa. The location can't be beat. It is close to the airport, stadiums, schools, shopping and restaurants. The staff is wonderful. The hotel is spotless. Parking is convenient. The pool area is big, relaxing and never seems to be crowded. The only issue we have had during our last two stays at this hotel is that the mattresses are sagging and need to be replaced. We found this an issue during our last stay in March, but thought it was a fluke. After spending two nights there this week in a different room, we found our mattress to be uncomfortable again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Here at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel we strive to make each stay our up most importance. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel 813-877-9200 or email me at Amy. Fowke@renaissancehotels.com. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you and discuss your feedback further. Thank you, Amy Fowke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I came here because my husband is working in Tampa and since I was spending an extended stay with him he felt it was more convenient to his workplace and the airport. He has stayed here before and he felt the Hotel was more suited to both of our needs. He was right. The staff could not be nicer, the rooms are beautiful, the location is great and the Mall attached makes it convenient because everything you need is there. There are many great restaurants in the Mall and located near the Mall. The ladies who take care of the concierge level which we were on could not have been more accomodating. They are excellent at their jobs. The front desk is staffed with willing and able personnel. The Hotel is clean and kept that way at all times. I will be coming back to Tampa and I will stay at this Hotel again becase of their great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Your review is very much appreciated! We do strive to make each and every stay warm, hospitable and enjoyable. We are pleased to hear the staff is doing such a great job and helped make your stay a memorable one. The hotel is conveniently located next to International Mall and Bay Street with a variety of options for dining which can make it easy to travel without a car and keep entertained while your husband is working. We do look forward to your next trip to Tampa and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed 1 night at this hotel to drop my nephew back to his university and it is beautiful. Therese Shabe who works at the front desk was very helpful and let us know of the local restaurants and things to do in the area. We walk the wrong way to the elevator and she came out and assisted to the right way. Plan to stay next time at this hotel for my nephews graduation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and to know Therese Shabe was able to contribute to make your stay more enjoyable. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza. Good Luck to your Nephew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Renaissance is a very nice hotel. It is right next door to the International Mall and close to the airport. They have a small section of self-parking spots, all of which are free. They also have valet parking.
The lobby and hallways are very spacious well kept. The guestrooms don't disappoint. They offer just the right amount of space. The bathroom is very nice with marble counter tops, It has Aveda toiletries, great water pressure in the shower. They even have a night light under the counter to save you from running in to things in the middle of the night.
The only negative about the hotel was that they did not have a safe in the room, but had one at the front desk.
I would diffidently stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to use some of the amenities the hotel has to offer as well as the convenience of shopping at International Plaza and dining on Bay Street. We are pleased you will be returning in the future and look forward to seeing you. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, SC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel close to airport, major shopping and restaurants and in a safe location. I felt safe walking around the area. Good for a business trip and even made a quick day trip to Clearwater Beach. Very nice, clean room and comfortable bed. Good service at the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the review! Our location is great for convenience to the airport, shopping and dining. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy that convenience and do some shopping at International Plaza, dine on Bay Street and even enjoy one of Florida's great beaches. We look forward to seeing you soon and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Spa, Pool, Mid...
Show More
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Marriott Tampa Airport
Marriott Tampa Airport
#14 of 159 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Free Parking, P...
Show More
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#17 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#21 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.