We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% on Weekends
Ranked #12 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Getaway!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff was friendly and very helpful. Also, the hotel was beautiful and we loved the pool! It's located right next to an amazing mall for great shopping. We will def. be returning soon, for a weekend getaway :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    153
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
73
92
31
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband was attending a conference at this hotel and I couldn't think of a better location for a wife to be "stuck". Nice Gym, pool and hot tub...but the best was the location next to an upscale mall with everything you could want. The hotel had a Mediterranean feel, with the stone work, warm colors and nice courtyard. There are many really nice restaurant options, located attached to the hotel. The hotel was so clean, I asked how long they were open, thinking it was less than 1 year, and it was many years. It is also very convenient to the airport.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel when traveling. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with a great lobby and friendly staff. The communal areas of the hotel were all very nice, and it had a great courtyard in the center. In addition, there was a nice pool and hot tub at the hotel. The hotel also had a nice restaurant contained within it. One of the highlights of the hotel was the phenomenal location as it was positioned right next to a mall which was highly convenient. The rooms themselves were a reasonable size and were nice. However, one of the only complaints I did have was that the beds were uncomfortable, and the mattresses were very hard. In addition, there was an additional charge for wifi access (about $13); however, there was wifi available for free in the communal areas. Overall, I was impressed with the hotel as a whole other than the uncomfortable beds.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is very beautiful. The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Convenient shopping, dining, and entertainer access without having to drive. The valets are awesome. Ordered room service and the good was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrettyPls
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to stay if going to Busch Gardens or for your first visit to Tampa. They have a great military rate and seem to really appreciate the military serviceman and their family! It's not to far off the highway and about twenty five minutes to Busch. The shopping is excellent. It's literally 3 minutes in walking distance to the mall. The mall is somewhat upscale for Tampa... with a Neiman Marcus, Capital Grill, etc. It's about a five minute drive to a Whole Foods Market, Target, Best Buys, Wal-Mart. We went to Clear Water Beach one day which is about 40 minutes from the hotel. Our room was roomy, with comfortable beds and we had adjoining rooms to our young adult children. The rooms had refrigerators which we stocked with goodies we bought from whole foods and target. This was very nice. The pool & hot tub was clean and the gym was a nice size for the hotel itself. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Daily the reception desk had free fresh fruit and free self served ice water infused with fresh fruit daily. A wonderful touch! They also offer free on site parking but it's not secure so park at your own risk.
This is a great place to stay even if you are on a budget without feeling like you are compromising service or class!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Renaissance property is only a few minutes from the Tampa airport, and situated in the International Mall.

The International Mall provides plenty of dining options, as well as shopping for those who are so inclined.

The hotel property is classy and comfortable. It definitely lives up to the Renaissance standard.

Will consider this property again when arriving into Tampa airport in the evening, or needing to leave early morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate the great review and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am in Tampa frequently for businss and decided to try something new this trip. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. My room overlooked the interior courtyard and was comfortable and very, very quiet. Service in the concierge lounge was a bit lacking - the staff seemed very engaged with a few "regulars" and not necessarily interested in the rest of the customers. Didn't have time to take advantage of the mall on this trip but will definitely plan for that on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard if you want something very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning in the future. We will assure you it will be a warm and hospitable experience. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#12 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.