We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel for shopping and nightlife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun hotel for shopping and nightlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice for girls' weekends and haven't been dissapointed. The rooms are roomy and well appointed like most Renaissance properties. The proximity to International Plaza is fantastic for shopping and for the nightlife on Bay Street (the International Plaza "street" with all the bars and restaurants).

The staff was outgoing and friendly and was prompt with any requests (including our request for a wine bottle opener and wine glasses).

The hotel bar was nice, bartender very friendly and offered wine recommendations. Food was good and excellent appetizers for sharing.

Hotel is very close to airport as well as many shops and all of the high end chains in Tampa.

Valet is quick and friendly.

Would always recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for the great response! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend this property to your friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    144
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
69
88
30
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. Staff was very nice. It's located right next to an outdoor bar/dining area that was great at night. There is also a mall on the other side of the courtyard. Overall, i was very impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We are delighted to hear you were able to utilize the convenience of International Plaza mall and Bay Street during your stay. It is always a pleasure to hear the staff has gone above and beyond to make your stay so enjoyable. We strive to make our guests feel warm and hospitable and to assure your stay with us is a great one. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a excellent, clean, well run hotel and ideal if you are stopping off in Tampa on business. It's close to the airport but still on a main route into Tampa. The hotel is located close to an up market shopping mall so and there are a large number of restaurants between the mall and the hotel. Despite being close to the airport the hotel is very quiet so no problem sleeping. The hotel has a small gym and a small out door pool but they are sufficient if you are only staying a day or two. Not sure if this hotel would suit a family but for the single traveler or couple it's worth considering.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Although you were here for work we are pleased to hear you were able to utilize some of the amenities the hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel location. It is within 1 mile if Moffitt Cancer Center so I don't have to drive 30 minutes to lifetime facility. Also very close to wonderful shopping and restaurants. I have only had breakfast but it was fine. Staff friendly and clean rooms. Airport is 5 min away but doesn't sound noisy. My favorite hotel in Tampa. Usually conferences being held here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and the great review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the convenience of the hotel was helpful to you. We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in 5 star hotels around the world and none of them have yet to match the overall excellence of the Renaissance Tampa at International Mall! We are "locals" who travel across the bridge from Clearwater 8-10 times a year just to experience a night at the Renaissance. Hotel staff always go above and beyond in any possible to make our stay one to remember! John, the Concierge is AMAZING! He is like your own personal attendant. I do not believe he has ever uttered the word "no". Everything about the Renaissance Tampa is a 10! In over 5 years of being a frequent customer, we have never had a bad experience. The rooms are immaculate, service incredible, and the city views are amazing. Not to mention, the International mall steps away and our favorite restaurant in Tampa the Brio. The only drawback is the letdown when we have to stay at other hotels on our travels. Tom and Annette.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are certainly pleased to hear you and your wife are so loyal to us and continue you stay with us every time you want to get away. We are delighted to hear all of the great compliments you have to say about the property, the staff and especially John! Thank you again and we cannot wait to welcome you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Co-located with an up scale shopping mall, this Renaissance manages to get it right. It has the feel of a boutique hotel, while offering the amenities of a larger property. The meal quality and service for larger events is outstanding. If you want to dine off the property the mall offers a number of choices. The staff are well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We appreciate the great review! It is always a pleasure to hear the staff has gone above and beyond to make your stay so enjoyable. We strive to make our guests feel warm and hospitable and to ensure your stay with us is a great one. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I travel for business frequently and this is my hotel of choice in the Tampa area. It is a beautiful hotel styled in old Cuban style architecture. The decorative tiles and iron doors are a nice touch. The staff are always very happy and helpful.

The issue I have are the rates can be high for last minute travel. I find however if I am able to plan my travel a couple of months in advance then the rates sometimes are feasible for business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review and the wonderful compliments about the hotel! It is always a pleasure to hear the staff is being happy and helpful to ensure you enjoy your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Spa, Pool, Mid...
Show More
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Quie...
Show More
Marriott Tampa Airport
Marriott Tampa Airport
#11 of 159 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
Free Parking, P...
Show More
InterContinental Hotel Tampa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.