We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "city" hotel in Tampa area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Michigan
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Perfect "city" hotel in Tampa area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here just for one night on the way to Busch Gardens. The hotel is very upscale with attentive service - from the valet parking, to the front desk, to the restaurant staff. Decor is really cool. Traditional meets eclectic - very bright and lively. The rooms are the standard size with smallish baths. But very well done. There's a courtyard in the middle of the property and a spa/pool but we didn't get there. The restaurant, Pelagia, was great - had lunch and breakfast here. Indoor/outdoor seating. Steps away from the mall which contains both Bay Street - numerous restaurants and a food court - as well as the shopping mall. Nordstrom's, Neiman Marcus, Dillards etc as anchors. Right next door to the airport but the windows and walls must have been soundproofed. Didn't hear a thing. Wonderful hotel if you want to be near airport, near mall, eateries, etc. Weekend rates were very good!

Room Tip: Standard rooms facing courtyard preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! It's always a pleasure to hear the staff made a great impact on your stay and you and your daughter were able to enjoy some of the amenities the hotel has to offer such as our restaurant Pelagia Trattoria, International Plaza and Bay Street as well as the short drive to Bush Gardens. We thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    173
    37
    13
    4
See reviews for
82
101
34
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Perfect hotel for overnight stay near airport or as a home base for exploring Tampa. Rooms and common areas are immaculate. Staff (front desk, housekeeping and Pelagia Trattoria restaurant) were and are top notch. Hotel has plenty of parking and is adjacent to a very nice outdoor lifestyle mall with plenty of chain options for dining if you feel like staying close to "home". Will definitely book here again if we get back to Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review and compliments about the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great dining experience in our restaurant Pelagia Trattoria. We do hope you come visit us again on your next trip to Tampa and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Joanne gave me the BEST room service and personal attention I have ever had! I travel every week and this is the first time I feel compelled to write a review.. I also want to mention Mahalo.. in the bar along with Danny who both made my trip most enjoyable.. The hotel is clean, and very lovely.. One of the prettiest Marriotts I have been in. The entire staff from valet to housekeeping were accommodating and kind. Thank you all so much for making my time away from home acceptable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We appreciate the great review and the compliments about the hotel and staff. We are delighted to hear Joanne, Mahalo and Dan were able to make your stay so memorable and most enjoyable. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

While it may not be the nicest Renaissance Hotel, I haven't been to all of them. But of the ones that I HAVE been to, I think that I enjoyed this one the most. The staff was really nice, from the front desk staff to the maids. I think that what I enjoyed most was the pool area. Most of the pools in the area were excessively cold, especially during winter when you would want them to warm it up a little bit. But the pool at this location was the perfect temperature. Probably not lap pool temperature, but enjoyment temperature. It didn't take me an hour to stop shivering and the location of the hotel compared to the mall and restaurants was great. A lot of good restaurants were within walking distance along with some good shopping. I think that the only thing that I didn't like was that their shuttle didn't start running until 5 a.m., which is when my plane left, so I had to pay extra just to get a ride to the airport. So definitely not very airport friendly considering it is an airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to enjoy the pool, shopping at International Plaza and Bay Street! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I traveled to the Tampa area over Easter to visit a friend who recently relocated there. The Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza was recommended to us as the place to stay. When we arrived at the hotel, we were impressed with the hotel itself, the public areas are clean, modern and the staff is friendly and helpful.
Our room was beautiful and well laid out. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening and had breakfast both days of our stay. The food and the service is outstanding. All good things must come to an end and we left after a two day stay with thoughts of when we would return.
If you visit the Tampa area, do yourself a favor and stay at the Renaissance, you will leave with a smile on your face.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for the great compliments and the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to dine in our restaurant Pelagia Tratorria. Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

On each trip to Tampa, I always stay at the Renaissance Hotel International Plaza. It is conveniently located just a few miles away from the Tampa International Airport. It also ajoins a lovely and large mall filled with a vast amount of both high-end as well as affordable indoor and outdoor shops, cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel lobby and rooms are classy and clean.
I recently had a major flight delay and checked in at 2:00am and the lovely front desk person (Letisa?) made me feel right at home. After hearing of my 8 hour flight delay, she promptly checked me in and gave my bottled waters and ordered a delicious selection of comfort foods from their 24 hr.room service menu and had it sent up to my room complimentary! It arrived within 5 minutes! This kind gesture sure took the edge off a harrowing trip. She made me feel warm and welcome! Althought I have never dined in their hotel restaurant, I have been told it is excellent. The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and the bathrooms are fairly spacious with good tolietires. My one and only complaint aboutthis hotel is that the bath towels, they are a bit small and somewhat scratchy. If they had plush, larger towels, this hotel would certainly be on par with any Ritz-Carlton city hotel! Kudos to your fine hotel and excellent staff and I welcome my next visit very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We thank you for the great review and are very pleased to hear Lenia was able to make your arrival experience warm and welcome after having a rough day of traveling. We are also delighted to hear you were able to enjoy some shopping at International Plaza mall and dine in Bay Street during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here one night before going to St. Pete's and had a great time. Love the location for shopping and causal dinner out - Cheesecake Factory, Capital Grill, etc. Great little dinner/bar scene if you don't feel like going downtown.

Very attractive hotel and beautiful courtyard and pool.

The upscale mall within walking distance next door is great and lots of cool stuff.

Love it and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate the great review and thank you for the wonderful compliments about the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and visiting International Plaza and Bay Street. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#19 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.