We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful well-appointed hotel near great shopping and airport!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Beautiful well-appointed hotel near great shopping and airport!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Property is located at the International Mall on the southeast side of the Tampa International Airport. The hotel is convenient to the mall yet a nice property to visit if you need quick access to the airport. The staff is extremely friendly, the property is well-appointed and very nice. Park is FREE which is a bonus and even includes free valet for guests that din at the Pelagia Trattoria restaurant inside the property. We not only stayed in the property as guests, but also dined and hosted an event at the restaurant inside. We definitely recommend a stop at the restaurant when staying at this property!

If you're a Marriott Rewards member you'll definitely know that Ren's are nice properties. This one is no exception. You'll be pleased with the decor, happy with the service and glad you stayed! When visiting Tampa, we'd definitely stay again and if nothing else, dine in the the Pelagia Trattoria restaurant! And if you do, request Albert as your server! He's a wonderful asset to the establishment!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted to hear Albert was able to make your dining experience in Pelagia Trattoria so memorable. Being connected to International Plaza and Bay Street and so close to International Airport is a great convenience when on vacation. We thank you for your loyalty as a Marriott Rewards member and thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel for your stay in Tampa. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    145
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
70
88
30
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! The rooms are clean and comfortable with a large flat screen TV. It is a great place to stay for any event at Raymond James Stadium. There is an awesome row of restaurants and bars right behing the hotel and the International Plaza Mall is right next door. We park the car on arrival and don't need to drive again till we are going home. By far our favorite spot to stay when we visit Tampa!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators if you are there for a staduim event so you don't hear the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and were able to discover all of the amenities the hotel has to offer and visit International Plaza and Bay Street. We do hope you will choose the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza hotel for a future event at Raymond James or just to come relax. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Golf group in Tampa for weekend. Stayed here as base. Clean, well staffed, efficient personel.
Best part is location which is near shopping, airport, and food. Would reccomend for these amenities. Nothing wow about the place but a solid hassle free stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to discover the amenities the hotel has to offer such as the convenience of Tampa International Airport, International Plaza and Bay Street. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We live 35 minutes away but stay here when we come into Tampa for a special occasion and don't want to drink and drive home. This is probably our 4th or 5th stay here. I love the Floridian/Mediterranean design. You can tell immediately you are not at a cookie-cutter Marriott. It is very distinct, tasteful, and memorable.
We love enjoying a drink by the fountain in the courtyard. They did not have the water running on our last visit but we only stayed one night. It was my husband's birthday so Lauren the reception supervisor gave us free breakfast, which we appreciated and enjoyed. We love the Pelaggia Trattoria restaurant and have eaten there before, always terrific cuisine!
The hotel is in a great location, convenient to almost everything in the area. You can walk to many restaurants and the adjacent International Plaza mall.
The beds are very comfortable, the furnishings are all in good condition. The light fixtures and hallway decor is very nice. The walls all looked freshly painted. The materials are all very quality. It looks luxe. The toiletries are Aveda, which I LOVE.
We did hear some door banging in the evening and morning but it's hard to escape that anywhere.
I have only two quibbles with the property, and one is big. For a non-smoking property, you have to walk THRU what is apparently the Smoking section to enter. There was ALWAYS someone smoking RIGHT BY THE FRONT DOOR. The other issue was the valet and the parking. It was always a zoo when we were there. People would just leave their cars, causing a jam, and so we had to wait by the smoking section for our car. We did not want to pay for the valet parking ($18) but all of the lots where the hotel guests can park had their gates down. When we asked the valet about it, he said the gates were up, I said no, they were down. So rather than continue to argue with him, and then try to maneuver our car around again a second time to look for a spot, we just paid the $18. I really wish we had not valet parked because then we could have just walked, thru the smoking section to our car rather than wait in the smoking section for it. We did end up waiting inside after the smoke got really bad (I am allergic) but due to the layout, and the jam of cars, we had no visibility.
Also this hotel is popular for weddings and they can take over the property so if you're going for a long time, or a special event, you may want to ask if there is anything going on at the hotel and if any areas will be closed. We did not experience this on this particular trip but we have in the past.
There are a lot of great restaurants within a short drive. We went to Roy's, which I love and have reviewed separately, and the hotel driver was able to drive us there and back in between airport runs. We appreciated not having to get a cab for a 2 minute drive but it's not really walkable, especially in the dark.
We would definitely return and when we do, I will say something about the smoke.

Room Tip: interior rooms face the courtyard, which is nice. You can also see the airport and Raymond James s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate the great review! Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tampa International Hotel to celebrate your husband’s birthday. We are delighted to hear Lauren was able to make your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had stopped by a few weeks ago on business and ate in the restaurant. I loved the place so much that I had to stay here next time I was in Tampa. The restaurant was fabulous again. I had the scallops which were HUGE! The service was amazing from Rich. I had a little time to spare and when I asked the manager Dan what to do he had about 20 different ideas for me from the boat show to watching the cigar rollers in ybor city. This place rocks and the little lady Ilinca at the front needs to show the rest of the front desk staff how to wear a smile. A big thumbs up and I will be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from your check-in with Ilinca to your service in Pelagia Trattoria from Rich and all of the recommendations you received from Dan. Hopefully you were able to discover some of the places he recommended. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Believe all the great reviews. Hotel is in a great location next to a very upscale mall and plenty of dining options. Husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights celebrating our birthdays and loved how convenient everything was to the hotel. Hotel itself is updated with a cool Mediterranean vibe. Staff is helpful. Ate breakfast one morning at Pelagia (hotel restaurant) and it was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted to hear you chose the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel to celebrate your birthdays and were able to enjoy the convenience of International Plaza, the restaurants in Bay Street and our restaurant Pelagia Trattoria! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in a good location. 10 minutes from downtown area and adjacent to an upscale mall with loads of dining options. Rooms aren't very large but they are clean and very nice. Beds are comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyF1014, Front Desk Lead at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate the great review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to discover the amenities within and around the hotel especially shopping at International Plaza and dining in Bay Street. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#15 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.