We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best customer service overall. Especially Philicia Darns, who made it a enjoyable stay and who coordinated with my husband to make it a rememberable birthday by planning activities with him. Everything was within walking distance for great food and shopping. And the room was one of the best that I have stayed in, clean and spacious. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I return back to Tampa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We are delighted that Philicia Darnso was able to contribute to making your birthday a memorable experience. As you stated, our hotel is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    194
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
94
117
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
titusville, fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel and restaurant were very nice. The icing was the upscale mall and high end restaurant courtyard just outside the back entrance. Dozens of super good sidewalk and indoor restaurants. We ate at three of them and had the best food ever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for the great review!. So glad you enjoyed your weekend getaway. As you stated, we are ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband is attending a conference at the hotel and I tagged along to get out of Michigan's cold. I didn't realize what a wonderful time I would have at the hotel. The staff, from the valet service to the guest relations have been so helpful. They have recommended great restaurants, made reservations, given directions, and just been all around good representatives of the hotel. The room was very nice (even to the new fridge that arrived today to keep my water cold). Again, it is the staff that makes a business a success and you are successful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not on the water or city center. It is however within 20 minutes of the beach and walking distance to Hugh end shopping. Bits a great choice to be near it all but you definitely need a car to enjoy the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for the review! As you stated, we are adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores and restaurants. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, excellent service and very close for shopping as bay Street is in walking distance., were you'll find a mall, restaurants, nightclubs and Bars. Daily Newspaper, and a great business Center, would highly recommend! Close to Airport also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are glad that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location convenient to the airport and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores and restaurants. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I attended business conference at the Renaissance this week. This was the 2nd time our group had stayed at this hotel. It was as pleasant this time as it was the previous time. Theresa at the front desk was most helpful several times during our stay. The conference food was very good as was the waitstaff at the events. I would recommend this hotel for your conference/

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel and that you enjoyed the services and amenites provided. Your kind words about Teresa at the Front Desk were very much appreciated and will be passed on to her. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for a future conference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is not only close to the airport but also on mall property. The International Plaza mall as a wonderful area called Bay Street that is filled with restaurants and night club/bars. The restaurant on property was fairly prices and the hotel grounds in general is what you would expect of a Renaissance hotel. The view of the airport was nice yet you don't have and issue with airline noise. This property also has a large ballroom that proved to be nice for large meetings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#5 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.