We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a minute to find but glad I did” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #15 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Crawfordville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Took a minute to find but glad I did”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is was a little hard to find at first. While I mostly blame my GPS for driving me around the mall, I think additional signage would be helpful. The staff was friendly and the hotel looked amazing. Very comfortable beds lead to a great nights sleep. Only complaint is the cost of wifi in the rooms. Most prices I've seen at other hotels is half as much as they were charging. The hotel connects to shopping, dining, and bars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, we are conveniently located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    167
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
81
99
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good location for business. Take the shuttle from airport. Rooms very nice, excellent lobby. Concierge room small and crowded. Attached to a shopping area and can walk to several dining choices.
I prefer this hotel over the other airport area hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for the great review! Regarding your comment about the size of our Club Lounge, you will be pleased to know that plans are underway to enlarge the Lounge next year to better accommodate our Club Level guests. As you stated, our location is convenient to Tampa International Airport and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadley rille
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

it probably was not the hotel's fault, but the lovemaking of the couple next door at 4 a.m. was so loud it was almost comical. pounded on the wall to shut them up. my wife and i still laugh about it. parking garage is a bit rough and the exit onto a busy street can be a bit tricky. clean room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel, however, I sincerely regret the disturbance your encountered due to noise from the adjacent room. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a rewards certificate to kill and not a lot of time, so we just snuck away to Tampa. As the last time we stayed here, it was an excellent stay.

It's a great property. Well maintained. Clean. Everything one expects -- from good bed and good pillows to lots and lots of hot water. Staff was friendly and professional. Got in, got out, no issues.

Only downside of this hotel is that it is at a busy, upscale shopping mall, and parking can be an issue. At one point, we had to park several blocks away, though it did thin later. Nice thing about this, of course, is that there are a BUNCH of restaurants literally steps outside the door (not that there's a thing wrong with the in-house restaurant, of course!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel, but do regret the difficulty you encountered with parking. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have never had anything but great experiences in a Renaissance, and this was no exception. Very nice room, courteous staff, and a nice comfy bed with good a/c. It had a real nice bathroom as well, and of course a great flat-screen TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beautiful decor throughout, comfortable rooms, beautiful lobby, and delicious Italian restaurant all walking distance to the fab International Plaza shops and restaurants. My only disappointment is that they changed their beautiful Spanish flamenco classical guitar music to their generic hip hotel music. The whole Latin flavor of the hotel changed. They should at least intermix it because it really made the hotel stand out from the others.

Room Tip: Choice of courtyard or airport or shopping mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are delighted that we are your favorite hotel in Tampa! As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. I will pass on your suggestion to add flamenco music back into the mix and hopefully that will take place prior to your next visit. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed here before, and the rooms are very nice. The beds are very comfortable (Sterns & Foster). My room had a fridge but it did not have a clock radio that would accommodate my iPhone. As my tip says, bring speakers if you want to listen to music in the room form your iPhone/iPod. Service is great, you call the desk for everything and they take great care of anything you need, very high marks to the staff. The Hotel shuttle will drop you at anywhere locally. The location is on the International Plaza Mall, which has tons of elegant stores, as well as "Bay Street" with several bars and restaurants. The food in the hotel is better than average hotel food. Check the web site for details and menu's. I lived in Tampa for over twenty years, and have always stayed here when there was a function nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have iphone/ipod clock radios yet. Bring your own speakers if you want to hear m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! I am thrilled to hear that you always enjoy the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to once again welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#12 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.