We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An island of luxury in a sea of airport ghetto"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza to your Saves list
Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“"An island of luxury in a sea of airport ghetto"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stay in Tampa on a somewhat regular basis. I'm a Marriott loyalist so I've tried a few of their properties. The Renaissance is by far the best property anywhere near the airport. This is just not the show part of town, unless you'd consider "gentleman's clubs" high class and then you'd be fine in any of the surrounding properties. But the Renaissance lives up to the brand's reputation and it's a safe bet if you want to be near the airport.

The property is located adjacent to a nicer traditional mall, and there is a small open air plaza with a wide range of restaurants from upscale to casual. It's a great place to relax for lunch or have a nice dinner. And the mall is upscale if that's your thing.

The Renaissance itself is a gem of a building. The entry is elegant, the staff are wonderful, the place looks neat, shiny and new. The normal Renaissance amenities and atmosphere are such a welcome respite from the otherwise bleak and rundown properties within a few mile radius of the airport. When I booked, the price was only about $30/night more than the regular Marriott property a short drive away (but more engulfed by the encroaching ghetto). It was well worth the premium for the added luxury, convenience to the many dining opportunities at the outdoor plaza and greater sense of security.

The parking area could be a bit better maintained, but that's about my only gripe. I'm looking forward to coming back my next time in town.

As an aside, if you want a real treat, try the gelato at the Gelateria del Duomo in the open air plaza. I've been to a gelateria or two or ten in Italy and this is the real stuff.

Room Tip: Rooms with a courtyard view are a bit more shielded from the airport noise. But truthfully the airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a spectacular review and for being a loyal Marriott customer! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is convenient to downtown Tampa and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel on your future visits to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    194
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
94
117
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
province
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This place and it's staff are FABULOUS! We were there last night and will return. EVERYONE is great- from shuttle to front desk to Ling the breakfast at Gabriella's lady. I am there every year and look forward to staying longer. I took pictures and ooooed and aaaahed like a hillbilly who just came from the hills. LOVE LOVE LOVE

Room Tip: pick any they are all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoy returning to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel each year and are glad that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and services providede by our wonderful staff. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I have never been disappointed. The accomodations are superior and the staff is extremely attentive. Several of the staff have gone out of their way to visit with me and make sure that I am comfortable. As a single women traveling alone, their attention makes me feel welcome, safe and special. Kudos and much appreciate to Teresa, Tommy, Jimmy, Barbara and John.

Room Tip: Love the court yard rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thanks for the great review! As a repeat guest, we are thrilled to hear that you always enjoy your visits with us. We take great pride in our staff and the services they provide to our guests. Your comments will be passed on to each of the individuals mentioned. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel on your future trips to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Came in on a late plane and left early. I am a member of their reward program. I never even had a paper delivered like some rooms did. Bottle of water in room was over 3 for a small bottle.

Overflow drain cover in bath tub was loose in the tub.

It did have an airport shuttle

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. We always strive to provide top notch services and amenities and it is very discouraging when we fall short of that goal. I'm sorry that you did not receive a paper -- your newspaper delivery preference should have been noted in your Marriott Rewards profile. What you experienced is not typical and the loose tub drain cover is certainly not up to our high quality standards. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Renaissance Tampa Hotel so that we can provide you with a favorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Superior on many levels: near the airport, connected to the Tampa International Mall, not too far from down town, comfortable rooms and reasonably priced. No real negatives other than this is a business hotel. Other than the mall nothing in the area is within walking distance.
If that is what you are looking for this property will fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is convenient to downtown Tampa, the airport, and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel is connected by a courtyard to the Tampa International Mall. Between the hotel and mall are numerous restaurants (not fast food). Really great places to eat inside or outside.
We ate breakfast at the hotels restaurant. Expensive and service was just ok. Nothing special.
The hotel is also very close to the Bucs football stadium.
The rooms were small but clean. Nice flat screen 46" TV in the room. No view to speak of.
We will stay again but not at the price we paid.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the services and amenities provided by the hotel. As you stated, our location is convenient to Tampa International Airport and is ideally located adjacent to International Plaza and Bay Street with its upscale retail stores, food court, full service restaurants, sports bars, a wine bar and a martini bar. We certainly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed one night, and will never stay there again. The good points first, the club lounge was pleasant and comfortable. The location at the International Plaza is great. The hotel provides complementary airport shuttle, which is very convenient. The front desk and club lounge staff were attentive and accommodating. The bad point - and really the deal breaker - is that the walls between the rooms are paper thin. We could hear "everything" going on in the room next door. While the beds were comfortable, we could not sleep with all the noise distractions from the room next door. In addition, the hotel only provides Wi-Fi in the lobby area - not in the rooms. Not a deal breaker, but more of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NinaH066, Guest Relations at Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay at the Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel. We always strive to provide our guests with an exceptional experience, and it is very discouraging when we fall short of that goal. The noise that you experienced from the adjoining room is not typical and certainly not up to our high quality standards. Please be advised that we are in the process of installing in-room wireless which should be completed by the beginning of next year. I hope that you will reconsider and allow us to host you on a future trip to Tampa - I am confident that you return visit will be a memorable and favorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza

Address: 4200 Jim Walter Blvd., Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#5 Business Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Tampa
Tampa Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Tampa Hotel International Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.