We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“À good place to eat at Ybor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carne chophouse

Carne chophouse
1536 East 7th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605
(813) 341-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #314 of 1,997 Restaurants in Tampa
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Le Cannet, France
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“À good place to eat at Ybor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We use to Know this place when it was a french night club called l'olivier.
Thé restaurant is nearly thé same, less curtains and sofas, no place to dance but more or less
Thé same atmosphère. I eat a wonderful stirloin steak with an onion soup for $ 14, drink à vert good pino grigio. We are very well welcome. We will certainly eat here again next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Steak of My Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is an excellent place to eat. The food is impeccable, the service is also. Wonderful experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had steak chimichurri and I can almost still taste it. Best steak I've had in a long time. Next time I'm in Tampa, that's where and what I'm eating. The atmosphere was also fun. It had a 1940s feel, and the Frank Sinatra-type singer was pretty good. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My new favorite place to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

A good place to join friends for great food and service! The building is in the Historic section of Centro Ybor and has a lot of history!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were a group of 6 friends who arrived without reservations on a Saturday night. We were greeted by the manager who explained we'd have a 35 minute wait but we could sit in the bar area until a table was ready. We did and ordered some drinks to pass the time. Our table was ready in 24 minutes and we were escorted to our seats. Our server professionally explained the different dishes and how they were prepared.

We ordered different items and each of us was pleased with our selection. We were amazed that each meal came with sides and the portions were quite generous. I'd never seen a Caesar salad presented in such a unique manner and I loved it!

We followed up with desserts and coffee. Even though the restaurant was full and crowded never did we feel rushed to finish our meals and vacate our table.

Then, as an added PLUS----we looked at our bill! We couldn't believe that we could have such a wonderful meal for such a reasonable price.

This place is a true gem in Ybor City. The owner has found a perfect formula to please his customers and keep them wanting to come back again and again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Carne chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carne chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.