We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you need a small bus to take you to casino from parking lot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5223 N. Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
clearwater fl
1 review
“you need a small bus to take you to casino from parking lot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

you need a small bus to take casino from parking lot the isle of capri in devenport ia got one

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    153
    87
    79
    125
See reviews for
97
329
79
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

I have visited Hard Rock Tampa Casino on a number of occasions and without a doubt this is the tightest and least fun gambling experience I've ever had. It is the closest casino to my home, and I now avoid it like the plague.

I have gambled in many places; Las Vegas, Biloxi, Arizona and many cruise ships. When I gamble I do not expect to win but I do expect to have the prospect of winning enough to "stay in the game" awhile, and walk away as a winner now and again. A $10.00/$15.00 win on a dollar slot ($3. at a time) is a major hit here. It's not losers remorse; you just don't see or hear others winning.

Aside from not winning, there is nothing in this operation to make you feel welcome or have a pleasant time in anyway.

This casino is run exactly like what it is; the only game in town with a attitude that there are plenty more suckers, so if you don't like it, move on. Do yourself a favor and DON'T GO!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My parents go to this hotel to gamble almost every day even though they live in New Port Richey. The staff greets her by her first name and accomodates her every wish. We stayed free and ate free because of all the bonus points she accumulates. She assures me that even though she has spent a lot of money there she has also experienced some really huge pay outs.

The rooms were fabulous. The bathroom is quite large and very clean as is the rest of the room. Hair dryers and nearly everything you need is right there.

The Plum Room really is THE place to eat but you have to be a regular guest at the hotel like my mom, to rate getting into it.

The Fresh Harvest restaurant has nearly every ethnic food you can think of. I admit the Italian pasta was gummy, so that needs work. There are all kinds of delicious desserts. I'm a vegetarian and had no trouble finding plenty of food to eat there.

This is NOT a hotel for people on a budget or limited funds. It's first class all the way.

While I'm not a smoker and it IS noisy it still is a lot of fun. The pool area is beautiful and the lobby is unusual in a very attractive way.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Ultra friendly staff, great rooms and a great 24 hour vibe! This was the second stay in three weeks and the receptionist remembered my name straight away and even put us in the same rooms so we would know are way around, this was excellent customer service and made us feel really welcome. We ate at the Japanese restaurant which was lovely but the children's favourite was the buffet which had everything you could imagine at a very reasonable price. The children loved the pool which had underwater music playing. I would not hesitate to stay here again, great location - only ten minutes from Busch Gardens, great staff and great rooms!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My sister and I had a ball!! This was our second stay overnite and the rooms are fantastic. The casino was just like Vegas with all the bells and whistles. Food was awsome and the staff friendly. In fact I'm taking my husband in April to get him hooked. Few drinks, some slots and a great place to stay overnite. Great get away, close to home.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

but it is on seminole indian land, and not governed by local laws. therefore, when you step unto the property, realize you are a 'guest' of the seminole tribe of florida.

yes, the lines for the 3 restaurants are horrible. disabled singles are forced to stand in line for the 'green room'. at least the fresh harvest buffet allows disabled to sit and wait. the food at all 3 restaurants is excellent. the food at the 'food court' is mediocer.

yes, it does smell of smoke. the drinks arent free, but you can get free soft drinks, coffee or water IF you are seated gambling. however, you rarely see a server. if your cash or coupon gets 'stuck' in the machine, expect to wait for a service person for at least 45 minutes. if you cash a check, its $7.50 per hundred dollars.

the slots are dicey...and you MUST be aware of how much you are actually gambling.

i live in st. pete, and visit about once a week. i do very well at certain slots by betting the max. the max on a 2 cent machine can range from $4 a bet to $7.50, so be careful. any payout over $1200 brings an attendant quickly so they can give you the federal tax forms.

unfortunately i went last sunday for the 'kiss the sky' giveaways. they gave away 5 2009 saturn sky convertibles. i have never seen such a crowd anywhere. it was outrageous and on american soil, fire laws would have prevented such overcrowding. dont go on a weekend or when they ar doing giveaways. i played my usual machine and by betting max on this 5 cent machine, won about $800 in an hour. however, there was a gang of middle aged women of hispanic culture roving around. i noticed them bumping into people who were seated, actually falling on some players. one woman was knocked off her stool, and a few of the rovers pretended to 'help' right the stool and dust off the woman, all while another of their group hit the 'cash out' button and ran off with the ticket.

trying to get to a cashier was difficult with the mass of flesh pushing and shoving. i saw the roving band of women again coming at me down a crowded aisle, and i tried to move out of the way. i was punched on the back of my head, and i turned to see who had hit me, and when i did, the gang in front of me started clawing me all over and somehow managed to take my cash tickets. they tried to take my watch, but they didnt get it. there was no security in sight. i cant help but wonder how many other people experienced something similar?

the best time to be on the casino floor is between 6am and 10 am or after midnight, on a week night, so its not so out of control crowded.

i stayed at the hotel for one night under a 'comp' program. the room costs $359 and i felt it was worth more like $129. we did have a 'fridge, hairdryer and coffeemaker. the security for the hotel is excellent....but the beds were lumpy and very uncomfortable.

try not to park on the higher levels of the north garage; its very spooky, and again, no security.

it ain't 'vegas, baby!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Second time here and we expected horrible service as the place was packed, apparently not normal on a Sunday. I am writing this from the room prior to check out. Internet is fast, even at 10 AM, which is not normal as many hotels internet slow down in the morning. Valet guided us right in, we were offered a fair deal on a deluxe upgrade, which was a beautiful, renovated suite on the 7th floor with a jacuzzi tub, hardwoods and more. Room was very clean. Had dinner at the italian place here and the people were awesome so check them out. Bar service was quick and fairly courteous, but could be better. I guess they might expect all men to flirt with them in their little outfits, but I just wanted a cocktail. Servers were a bit hard to find, but again, super crowded. In the morning finding servers was easier. Casino was up and down but overall I lost, but was up from Hard Rock Hollywood last week. Typical slot odds for a non casino town, you should expect this or go to Vegas where there is casino competition. Im used to bad slots from Turning Stone near home, another indian casino with no competition. The bed was comfortable, but pillows too big for an average sized person and firm. No hotel is perfect, but having stayed at 4 different hotels in the past week plus, this surpassed any other hotel so far. A bit more expensive then similar hotels, but you should be staying here for the casino, if you can't afford to lose, find a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Address: 5223 N. Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't settle for just any Tampa hotel; give yourself the full rock star treatment at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Tampa. The 12-story AAA Four Diamond hotel features luxury amenities, including a newly renovated Rock Spa and VIP services galore. The hotel also offers a valet service or free, self-parking. We welcome reviews about the hotel experience, but we do have a casino and amenity specific page so be sure to leave your review on the right page so we can best respond to your comments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Tampa
Seminole Hard Rock Tampa
Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Hard Rock Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.