We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Night's Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5223 N. Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Night's Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms are huge and bed was very comfortable. Nice "rock star" theme. A little noisy as I could hear people talking in the hallway and knocking on someone's door near our room. Front desk staff very nice. Accidently got charged over $20 for mini bar items and Margarita was very helpful with clearing that up and getting our room discounted since we "play" at the casino several times a year. Need more choices for grab and go breakfast. Overall a good value with our discount. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments about Margarita, and we hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    138
    78
    72
    116
See reviews for
86
293
71
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am a Florida resident and have been going to the Hard Rock Tampa casino since it opened. I wrote a review last year complaining about the changes in the comp system. Have not had a free room offer for two years....however, I called about getting a free night for my birthday, and was pleasantly surprised when I was accommodated. My husband and I were given an early check-in, and the room was very nice. OK.....that's it for any GOOD comments!!!

First problem at valet parking. I had called and was told it was $5 to use the valet parking (we usually self-park but there was a Biker's event in the garage). So we decided to use the valet even though this is the ONLY casino in the country that I have EVER paid to valet park! NEVER in Las Vegas, Mississippi, Foxwoods, etc., etc. Anyway - when we pulled up, we were told it was $10 to park (it's $5 if you're only coming in to gamble - $10 if you're staying at the hotel....HUH???) Upon checking in, I mentioned this to the reservation agent, and she said she was sure the fee would be comped upon check-out - her quote exactly - "If they're comping you a room, they'll comp the parking." OK.....

Now.....the new Players Club system.

The Seminole properties implemented a new "Player's Club" on July 1st. Previously, there were 3 levels - Gold, Platinum and Elite. I have been a Platinum member for the past 5 years. Now there are two levels - Platinum and Elite. Basically, ANYONE who has ever been to the casino (even just once) is a Platinum member. So I'm starting from scratch - have zero points. Points are now called "comp dollars" - not sure exactly the formula they use for earning them, but after playing for all of Sunday, Sunday night and early Monday morning, I had earned $39 - WOW! Went to the buffet for dinner - my husband and I showed our Players' Cards, and dinner discounted. However, when I asked to put the charge on our room, was told they can't discount the dinner if it's put on a room charge....again....HUH????

At checkout - computer system malfunctioned - was told the only person who could fix it was "not in yet"......Also, parking charge was on my bill. When I explained it was supposed to be taken care of, the agent called a "host" - who said he would not comp that charge. They took $39 off my bill (my "comp dollars" I earned) - 2 non-discounted buffet dinners, and a parking fee (plus TAX). So, now I'm back to zero balance. Also, you have to use your comp dollars within TWO MONTHS or you lose them - ridiculous!!

Needless to say, I was very unhappy. And believe me, I didn't see many happy players in the casino - actually, for a Sunday, there were very few people there at all. The casino is now too big, and the hotel is too small for such a casino. the pool area is average - nothing special - and the cleanliness of the casino area is awful - overflowing ashtrays, empty beer bottles.....

This is a longer review than I ever post, but it angers me that this casino treats the average player (me) so shabbily - The high rollers do NOT keep casinos in business - it's the players like me who go regularly and gamble a few hundred dollars who keep things going. Shame on the new CEO - whoever he/she is - re-think your comp program, your Player's Club - until then, I'll wait for the small neighborhood casinos to re-open......or fly to Beau Rivage in Biloxi more often (3 nights/airfare comped) where the casino knows how to treat loyal players.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was an excellent hotel stay and experience. The customer service in all areas was great from check in to check out. I was impressed by how clean and dust free the room was. The bed was extremely comfortable and the food in the food court was delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice but not nice enough to justify the price. We paid close to 400 for one night. The food was good and wasn't overpriced. A drink at the casino was 14 for a cocktail and 5 for a beer. The lobby area is very smoky and even if you are not in the casino you should expect to smell like an ashtray when you leave. Very close to Ybor city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We hope you stay with us again! If you are a player's club member you may be eligible for discounts in the Hotel, so always ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We drove down to Tarpon Springs to check out the sponge docks & enjoy some Greek food. Then we got the idea of going to Seminole Hard Rock in Tampa to do some gambling and spend the night if a room was available. We self parked (plenty of parking). After walking through the property we turned around and left without inquiring on room availability. People were actually allowed to smoke in the gaming rooms and you could cut the smoke with a knife it was so thick. I have asthma and cannot be around cigarette & cigar smoke. I couldn't believe that any establishment still allowed smoking inside. What a disappointment. :/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we drove up to the valet until 2 days later when we sadly drive away, our stay at this hotel was excellent. Front desk staff, housekeeping, restaurant servers ( green room especially, with all of the people they had to tolerate at 2 am) casino staff, even the security at the elevators, all were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The room was fresh and inviting . It was incredibly comfortable. In all honesty, there was only one thing I could complain about. Every time I moved in my bed it squeaked. Loudly. Just turning over would wake up my friend in the next bed. But the bed was very comfortable. I barely noticed the squeaking but she complained to me both nights. Lol. Still, it was a great time and I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel public bathrooms are dirty and the stalls won't lock. Pool is tiny. Service at check in is bait and switch and don't expect them to be concerned. You have to exit the hotel to reach the club and wear two ugly wristbands. Won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Address: 5223 N. Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't settle for just any Tampa hotel; give yourself the full rock star treatment at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Tampa. The 12-story AAA Four Diamond hotel features luxury amenities, including a newly renovated Rock Spa and VIP services galore. The hotel also offers a valet service or free, self-parking. We welcome reviews about the hotel experience, but we do have a casino and amenity specific page so be sure to leave your review on the right page so we can best respond to your comments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Tampa
Seminole Hard Rock Tampa
Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Hard Rock Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.