We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great room and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa to your Saves list
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5223 N. Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great room and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We wanted a one night getaway, and decided to try Hard Rock. We're not big gamblers, so it was mostly for the experience and a nice room. We enjoyed an excellent dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe, with exceptional service. It was our anniversary and they upgraded us to the King Spa Room. Beautiful, clean, great jacuzzi bath and rain shower. The big screen TV was nice-the bed was very comfortable. What stood out across the board was the customer service. Truly enjoyed. Can't really comment on the Casino-clean and huge tho.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thanks for writing us about your experience and happy belated anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    138
    75
    72
    115
See reviews for
85
291
71
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Top notch service and room. Hated the smoke in the Casino

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The last time we stayed here, we used the valet assuming that it would be safer to leave our luxury car with them than it would be to use the parking garage. Turns out, the garage security is super tight which is great. Constantly patrolling around which made us feel safer. As always, the rooms were spectacular (The Spa King is worth the money!) the games (both slots and Blackjack) were awesome! We ended up hitting 3 jackpots on the slots and all within 2 hours! We stayed for 3 nights and it was just wonderful. I will say the quality of food in the Hard Rock Cafe has actually gone way downhill. Not sure what happened there since our last stay was in July and it was only a few months passed. Dinner was so-so, drinks were always very good. Hey cooks: If the fries are brown throughout, chances are they're not edible to serve. Just a thought. Room service was beyond great though, the servers who brought the food up got to know us very well and were always so pleasant! (Seriously, when you gamble with $100 and win 3k, why wouldn't you order room service for nearly every meal?!) Hotel staff was great especially the front desk and floor security. The only issue we had was with the deodorizer they used to freshen up the Casino (people smoke a lot so, it's understandable) after day 2, I got a little sick from the intensity of it but overall it was an awesome visit!

Room Tip: Go for the Spa King for sure. It's worth the extra money to have a larger room, surround sound i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I will not comment on the Hotel or anything other then the casino for this review. I did not saty at the hotel, I just went there for a day of entertainment. First off the layout was very confusing and found myself getting lost. I think the biggest problem I had with this casino is that when I have gambled at Foxwoods or Mohegan Sun ( both in Conn. ) as long as I was gambling the drinks were free. So when the waitress asked me if I wanted a drink ( I was playing 3 Card Poker ) I said yes and when she finally came back and asked for $11 I almost fell out of my chair, $11 for a Grand Mariner on the rocks while i was gambling? WOW, ok then would have been good to know right off the bat, I understand that all these indian reservations are getting back at the "whiteman" for the treatment of their ancesters but WOW really, the millions in profits they make in a year and they cant give a free drink while gambling? Was an OK casino other then that, just wanted readers to be prepared that drinks might not be free even if you are gambling.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and writing about your experience.
We are not like other casinos in other markets which are close together on a strip withing walking distance of each other. We are a commuter casino. We take pride in the fact that we work closely with the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office Responsible Alcohol Vendor Program to reduce the number of DUI's in the county. We do not serve free drinks in order to maintain our continuous commitment to this program.
And while we may not have other casino's close by like other places, we do have the beaches and other entertainment options close by!
We do hope you'll visit us another time and again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Expensive hotel to stay, however the rooms were very nice. I asked for non smoking room and wasn't accomodated even though I booked it 3 months in advance. The main restaurant "Green Room" is very poor, extremely slow they only let a few people in at a time even though it's empty. That's very poor management!! The food was average and even if you want to just purchase the bakery items, you have to wait in line with all the other people who wish to sit and dine. The casino is large, there was no non-smoking areas, everyone smoked throughout. Went on a weekend, extremely busy. Mostly two cent slots and higher, although you could find a few penny slots. Machines very tight, saw no one winning very much. If you want to win something, don't go here. However, if your just looking for some gaming fun and don't care you definately loose your money, there is plenty of opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. We offer more than 4,100 slot machines and are constantly introducing new gaming machines to the floor. Our payout percentages are comparable with any other casino in the industry. We offer weekly promotions and several ways to win. In the past three years, alone, we have awarded nearly $11 million in MegaJackpot prizes. Please visit our website to read about our winners on seminolehardrocktampa.com.
We hope you’ll give us another chance, maybe you'll get lucky!
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Tampa has been awarded its sixth consecutive Four Diamond rating from the American Automobile Association (AAA), placing it among the top 3.8 percent of AAA-rated lodging establishments nationwide.
Lodgings at this level are refined and stylish, featuring upscale physical attributes, according to AAA. They typically offer an extensive array of amenities combined with a high degree of hospitality, personal attention and guest services.
Our pricing reflects the quality of the room.
Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel excels for its casino, but if gambling is not your biggest concenr doesn't mater...rooms are modern, ample and clean, the staff is very good, always willing to help, on the expensive side, better options in Tampa? yes, but you are paying too for the Hard Rock brand name, recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are located 10 minutes East of Downtown Tampa right off I-4, and you're right, in a very convenient location.
Our hotel & casino is a AAA Four Diamond-rated destination for six years in a row, placing it among the top 3.8 percent of AAA-rated lodging establishments nationwide. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

For anyone coming to the Hard Rock in Tampa for the first time, let a Tampa native like myself tell you that you need to be prepared to LOSE. Yes, the occasional win hits, and like every other player you will have HOPE that it will be you. Well, it probably won't be. However, there is a big difference between the Tampa Hard Rock and every other casino. At the Tampa Hard Rock, you can't even make your money last. Part of the allure of gambling is the ups that go along with the downs. At the hard rock, its pretty much downs. I know many people who have gone there and just gave up and never go back. The slots are among the absolute TIGHTEST I have ever seen. Why? Because they have no competition. You can't just decide to walk/drive down the street to another casino like in Vegas, Biloxi or even Atlantic City. There isn't another casino within 200 miles! Basically its a monopoly- they know they have a captive audience and can empty your wallet without any effort.

The players club is the worst as well- the money I have spent in Biloxi has gotten me free flights and free rooms. The money I spent in Vegas got me free rooms, all meals comped, free tickets to shows, etc. And at all of these places you get something the hard rock doesn't provide- free drinks. Yes, they charge upwards of $8 per drink before tip. What do you get for your play at the hard rock? A point system that will basically require you to gamble like $100,000 to get a cheap coffee maker. It is insane. So if you are going to gamble at the Hard Rock Tampa, all I can do is WISH you good luck. Lord knows you are gonna need it. Indian casinos are not regulated by their respective states. Thus, you get very puny payouts. For example, the 3 Florida non-Indian casinos are required by law to payout at least 85%. You want a better chance to win, then go to state regulated casinos.

There is an extreme lack of winning in the place. I frequent Las Vegas, Tunica, Biloxi, Cherokee, Atlantic City, Laughlin, Reno, and Tahoe. I will never visit this joint again. Even in the line to get a Players Card, repeat players were complaining about how "tight" the machines are in Tampa. WARNING: PLAYING IN TAMPA MAY BE HAZARDOUS TO YOUR GAMING HEALTH

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHRTampa, Public Relations Manager at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We offer more than 4,100 slot machines and are constantly introducing new gaming machines to the floor. Our payout percentages are comparable with any other casino in the industry. We offer weekly promotions and several ways to win. In the past three years, alone, we have awarded nearly $11 million in MegaJackpot prizes. Please visit our website to read about our winners at seminolehardrocktampa.com.
Also, we are not only regulated at a state level, we're regulated under the National Indian Gaming Commission.
We hope you’ll give us another chance, maybe you'll get lucky!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa

Address: 5223 N. Orient Rd, Tampa, FL 33610
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't settle for just any Tampa hotel; give yourself the full rock star treatment at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Tampa. The 12-story AAA Four Diamond hotel features luxury amenities, including a newly renovated Rock Spa and VIP services galore. The hotel also offers a valet service or free, self-parking. We welcome reviews about the hotel experience, but we do have a casino and amenity specific page so be sure to leave your review on the right page so we can best respond to your comments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel And Casino Tampa
Seminole Hard Rock Tampa
Hard Rock Hotel Tampa
Hard Rock Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Tampa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.