We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Theatre

Tampa Theatre
711 N. Franklin Street, Tampa, FL 33602
813 274-8981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 93 Attractions in Tampa
Type: Theaters, Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 1926 movie palace is on the National Register of Historic Places and still plays its Wurlitzer organ before shows.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

Authentic historical theater, one of a kind place. People were friendly. Organ player was unique. Chairs weren't very comfortable, but still worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    68
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You absolutley must go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 NEW

Ok, I'm going to say this right at the start. I've been going to this theatre since I was a little kid (almost 6 decades now) and I loved it then and I still love it now. I can't embellish on anything that the other reviewers haven't already raved about but this is one of the coolest structures that I have ever been to. I know it sounds corny to say it's magical, but it is. Every time I go here I get goose bumps. If you've never been here it is really worth the trip downtown. You go once, you'll want to come back ...... often (be sure to check out the balcony). Oh yeah, they just had a fund raiser to buy a new popcorn machine. I can't wait!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A crown jewel of Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 NEW

A 1920's 'Atmospheric' theatre this is a very romantic date spot. Go for the balcony so you can see the 'night' sky. Even the men's room is pretty cool. The projector and sound is not first rate but it is perfect for older movies, animation festivals, and indie films.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You must see this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 NEW

If you've never been this is a must-see!! A gem to be discovered!! It really doesn't matter what film is playing, it's always a special evening

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“magical historic theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 NEW

This is worth going out of your way to visit, and we especially enjoyed arriving early enough to have a wander through the spectacular lobby and balconies with a glass of wine in hand, and to explore this unique heritage building before the movie started. We were also fortunate enough to be in town for a tour of the theatre, which provided a glimpse into the back-of-stage as well as the history of this amazing building. The theatre really does have a Wurlitzer organ, which rises magically out of the stage before the show begins. There is a dedicated crew of local citizens who keep the spirit of this historic landmark alive. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Tampa.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.