We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Classic Movie Series!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Theatre

Tampa Theatre
711 N. Franklin Street, Tampa, FL 33602
813 274-8981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 132 Activities in Tampa
Type: Movie Theaters, Theaters, Theater & Concerts, Fun & Games
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1926 movie palace is on the National Register of Historic Places and still plays its Wurlitzer organ before shows.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Summer Classic Movie Series!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A gem! The Wurlitzer organ is amazing! We attended a sing along Sound of Music showing! Totally Fun!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    73
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A trip to the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This theater is so beautiful that I couldn't believe my eyes. The organ music is a nice touch as are the "stars" on the ceiling. The ambiance starts with the ticket booth and continues throughout the whole theater.
Parking in the streets is free after 6 PM and there are several places where you can eat while you wait for the theater to open.
I'm sorry I was unable to take the tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Historical Jewel in Tampa and A must do attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is amazing! To put in a nutshell, it is a blast from the past....they have pretty much kept all the original decor inside and the outside is not shabby either. I really feel like I go back in time to the early 1900's when I come here. Seeing a movie here is just a wonderful experience. I try to go as much as I can. Plus it helps support the theatre and that alone is a good reason to go. If you have not been, do yourself a favor and see what's playing and go have fun. Good times await.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go for a movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not to be missed. The most magnificent old movie theater you will ever see. Still has an organ player and an organ that comes up out of the floor. Make sure you walk up to the front of the downstairs seating and look up at the ceiling. The balcony seating is also fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
“A bit of Tampa history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Tampa Theater is a bit of old Tampa history. Located in what was once the heart of the downtown business district, the interior is decorated in the ornate style of the early decades of the 20th century. It periodically shows classic old black and white movies. Prior to the presentation of the movie, the stage floor opens up and "The Mighty Wurlitizer organ" rises from below for a pre-show mini-concert.

In the mid-1960's this historic landmark was nearly lost to a downtown fire which demolished half of the block where the theater was located. Fortunately, it was saved.

A previous reviewer referred to this as a small theater. Apparently he never looked up. Above the ground floor is a loge, a balcony and a second balcony.

Decades ago, as a 16 year old, I worked as an usher in this theater one summer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tampa Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Tampa Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.