We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Classic Movie Series!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Theatre

Tampa Theatre
711 N. Franklin Street, Tampa, FL 33602
813 274-8981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 attractions in Tampa
Type: Theaters, Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 1926 movie palace is on the National Register of Historic Places and still plays its Wurlitzer organ before shows.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Summer Classic Movie Series!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A gem! The Wurlitzer organ is amazing! We attended a sing along Sound of Music showing! Totally Fun!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    62
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A trip to the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This theater is so beautiful that I couldn't believe my eyes. The organ music is a nice touch as are the "stars" on the ceiling. The ambiance starts with the ticket booth and continues throughout the whole theater.
Parking in the streets is free after 6 PM and there are several places where you can eat while you wait for the theater to open.
I'm sorry I was unable to take the tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Historical Jewel in Tampa and A must do attraction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is amazing! To put in a nutshell, it is a blast from the past....they have pretty much kept all the original decor inside and the outside is not shabby either. I really feel like I go back in time to the early 1900's when I come here. Seeing a movie here is just a wonderful experience. I try to go as much as I can. Plus it helps support the theatre and that alone is a good reason to go. If you have not been, do yourself a favor and see what's playing and go have fun. Good times await.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go for a movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Not to be missed. The most magnificent old movie theater you will ever see. Still has an organ player and an organ that comes up out of the floor. Make sure you walk up to the front of the downstairs seating and look up at the ceiling. The balcony seating is also fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“A bit of Tampa history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Tampa Theater is a bit of old Tampa history. Located in what was once the heart of the downtown business district, the interior is decorated in the ornate style of the early decades of the 20th century. It periodically shows classic old black and white movies. Prior to the presentation of the movie, the stage floor opens up and "The Mighty Wurlitizer organ" rises from below for a pre-show mini-concert.

In the mid-1960's this historic landmark was nearly lost to a downtown fire which demolished half of the block where the theater was located. Fortunately, it was saved.

A previous reviewer referred to this as a small theater. Apparently he never looked up. Above the ground floor is a loge, a balcony and a second balcony.

Decades ago, as a 16 year old, I worked as an usher in this theater one summer.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tampa Theatre to your Saves list