We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute--Well Worth It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8310 Galbraith Road, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last Minute--Well Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We got stuck in FL twice due to storms in NY and decided to drive home on a Sunday night because we had no choice. Drove 2 hours from Ft Meyers until the tiredness took over around 1 a.m. Went on the smartphone and picked this hotel thanks to TA. It was modern, clean, very nice. My only gripe is that I booked it with a AAA discount, they never asked for my card, and of course I paid the full rate (didn't check my bill closely until I was in the car). The free breakfast was just ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Darlene,

Thanks for your kind review. I am glad that you found us and enjoyed your brief stay. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel with your AAA card on hand, and I will be happy to take care of the rate differential for you.

Wishing you spring weather soon!

George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    65
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
154
88
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here because of reviews and convenient position to north of Tampa, and very pleased we did so. The hotel is great - spacious clean rooms, well equipped, good location and easy to find. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and we particularly liked all the extra - a drink to take to your room, ice-cream in the lobby. The breakfast was really good, much better than the hot food offerings in similar hotels, tasty and hot. The other offerings are also good - nice muffins, fruit as well as plain breads, etc Strongly recommend - a model of how hotels should be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Honored Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We love it when we are able to provide a great stay to folks who've travelled all the way "across the pond" to visit Tampa. Thanks also, for your compliments about the free breakfast buffet - I will be sure to share them with the pantry team.

We wish you more happy travels look forward to serving you again on your next trip.

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express North Tampa is by far the best of the brand. If IHG was looking to build their brand and image around a model this is the location to select. For the last two years, I have traveled to this location and held meetings within the conference areas. I would have groups of 6 through 16, and at no time did I have a complaint or issue. From check in to check out, you will be taken care of with kid gloves. George the GM, offers his personal cell phone number to all guests, and requests calls if there is ever an issue. A true pleasure to work with George and his entire staff. My business travel has ended; however, I will go back for vacations. The team makes you feel like family, so make yourself at home and enjoy!! There is even a putting green!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Matt,

Your compliments and recommendation are sincerely appreciated. It is a pleasure to provide a successful training environment. Our team takes pride making the trainees feel like family.

We will miss your arrivals for business, but will be honored to serve your family for your trips to Florida.

Wishing you success in your new position,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the reviews on this site and was so glad that I did. It's not the nearest to Busch Gardens but it's an easy journey, close to the Interstate and it's definitely the best!

The levels of service are everything that has been said. In addition the hotel is immaculate and the rooms spacious with comfortable beds.

The breakfast is self serve and fairly basic but when we had a couple of requests, they were dealt with immediately and when my husband was allergic to an item on the menu, we were brought an alternative immediately.

A lot of the facilities are available in other hotels but the difference here is that you don't have to ask for anything - it is all offered or provided.

When we arrived early for check in just to drop off our cases, we were given a room. We were told all about the services on offer, we were given a local map, we were offered complimentary water, drinks and ice cream, we were advised about a discount at the local restaurant and given the WiFi password as a matter of course.

If you need a hotel for holidays or business, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Practical,

It is always great to hear from travellers who appreciate so many of the unnoticed details in our service and amenities. I am very proud of the team that served you so well.

Thank you very much for finding our hotel and for taking the time to recommend us to others.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Wishing you more Happy Travels!

George Sandona,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Picked this place for a 2 night stay while visiting Bush Gardens and could confirm all the kudos given on TA, the place seems to be new, very clean, I mean really clean with no smells of anything on the room. Very comfortable beds, modern and well maintained bathroom, nice furniture and a 44in TV with plenty of HD channels, including some that usually you don't get for free on other more expensive places. Service was very professional and on point, no complaints. There's lots of restaurant options around, groceries stores, pharmacies, etc...very convenient and only 15 min away from Bush Gardens and 20 min from Tampa downtown. I'd definitely stay there again. I've stayed in other larger and more luxurious HiE overseas, however for US standards this one is on my top list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear LB,

Thank you so much for the great compliments! I am always glad when the attention we have put in to room design, cleanliness & amenities is noticed by you, our guest.

It is an honor to be compared with your other favorite hotels, and to be your favorite Express in the US!

Our team is happy that we made your grade.

George Sandona,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWFL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Recommend this specific hotel to others. It is conviently located just off I-75 yet not close enough to hear traffic. We were greater at front desk with a smile and were offered a beverage (beer or water) and was told about the 8pm-10pm free ice cream and breakfast hours in the morning. Our room felt a tad musty when we arrived however once the air began it was perfectly fine. Room was very clean and bed was extremely comfortable. We had a partial view of the pool in room #427, King Size bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Cait,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers. We work hard to be the best at serving teams, and I am glad it shows. I invite you to return with the kids for a Busch Gardens weekend sometime soon. We have great package offers!

I hope the team is having a winning season and will be with us again for the next tournament.

Happy Travels!

George Sandona,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We, a group of 50 individuals, were housed, rented meeting room space, and got catering from this wonderful hotel. The staff was great and helpful, they catered to the groups needs, etc. I truly recommend speeding time here, not only do they have great accommodations (i.e. the rooms, shuttles available, meeting space, food) but the staff is wonderful and ready to help. Our group often has large meeting all over the nation and thus far this has been one of the best experiences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Nadia,

Thank you for pointing out all the great things about our Meetings & Events services. Our hard-working team often gets overlooked for the great service they provide to meeting professionals and organizations.

I am glad that we had to opprtunity to impress your group and invite you to come back for another meeting, or for some rest & relaxation.

Thanks again for staying, and meeting, with us!

Kind Regards,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Address: 8310 Galbraith Road, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tampa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#18 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.