We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8310 Galbraith Road, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at this Holiday Inn on I-75 on August 16-18, 2013.
The atmosphere was enjoyable, the front desk clerk was accommodating and the complimentary
buffet breakfast was very delightful and offered a varied assortment of items each day and the entire stay at this hotel was comfortable.

This was a leisure trip to visit my son who works in Tampa and definitely worth the trip.
Yes, I would stay at this Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: the rear of the hotel was more quiet and away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear TG,

We enjoyed having you stay, and it will be an honor to serve your family again!

Wishing you Happy & Safe travels,
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    67
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
159
90
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is a little out of the way, but that means its quiet. Our room was spotless and cleaned every day. The breakfast was self-service so no problem picking what you wanted, they even had an electric pancake maker. The pool is small but more than adequate and well stocked with clean towels. But by far the best thing about this hotel is the staff, every one we encountered was friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough to help! More expensive hotels could learn a lot from the staff here. Can't commend them high enough! This is what customer service should be like!

Room Tip: As the hotel is off the main road, there is little outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear June,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We have a great location and I am very lucky to have such a loving team of people serving our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The property itself was above average for a HIE. It was under remodel, but the staff and crew did a great job of hiding it. There was no inconvenience and the property was very clean.

The big story here, though is the people.

I checked in late and was warmly greeted by the front desk clerk. While at breakfast the first morning, I was approached by the General Manager who asked about my stay and was genuinely concerned about his staff's service. Every employee I met was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make me feel welcomed. They offered a drink upon check-in (beer or water) and ice cream in the evenings.

Great property, but the people and service made all the difference. Great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your compliments on our people, and the hospitality you received. Our goal has always been to provide fresh & inviting accommodations, but to earn your return trip with our service.

Thanks again, for staying with us! I am happy that we hit the mark and look forward to serving you again.

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express twice this year. We wanted to visit Busch Gardens and searched thru Tripadvisor. Many other accommodations might be closer and we have stayed at several but, none match up to this hotel. While other hotels are either dirty or in a really bad neighborhood, I highly recommend staying at this Holiday Inn Express.

This hotel is sparkly clean and has unlimited amenities in the room. At the check-in you are welcomed by absolutely friendly staff and complimentary beer or water as well as free ice cream in the evening. The rooms are simply immaculate and match up to and exceed most other hotels which even have a five star rating.

We had two different rooms during our stay. One time a regular 2 queen bed standard room which was great. The other time we had a 2 room suite since we had 3 kids with us. The suite even has a jacuzzi, large living room area. Each room is equipped with their own LED TVs. A really nice feature is an overview of all the channels by channel and alphabetically which makes watching your favorite channel so much easier than at any other hotel. The beds are so comfortable with different types of pillows hard and soft.

During both stays we had a perfect and very quite room, a beautiful pool to relax in the afternoon and in the evening there are literally hundreds of places to eat nearby. The area is absolutely safe and the drive to Busch Gardens is a mere 12-14 minutes.

It is absolutely worth it and we will continue to stay at this lovely hotel. The Manager, George, was there in the morning and greeted the guests during breakfast and got their feedback if everything was ok during their stay. The breakfast buffet let me tell you.... I can't think of anything that is missing. It has everything from french toast, pancakes, eggs, omelet, bacon, sweet donuts and pastries, whole wheat breads, juices, milk, water, coffee and on and on and on. A perfect way to start the day. Other hotels who charge $15-$30 for their breakfast do not have to offer what this great place has.

Best regards and many compliments to all the staff. Keep up this fantastic standard. This hotel definitely deserves 10 out of 10 points.

We will be back for sure!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. If you come with a family, take a 2 bedroom suite. Wow, so fantastic and ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Spoily,

Thanks for the awesome compliments! You pick up on so many of the details that we put thought into, like the channel guide, and the range of breakfast choices.

I am especially glad that you were able to experience the three room suite - it works great because the families can have space (and individual TV choices) without renting additional rooms.

Thanks again for the praise for our team and beloved hotel - we look forward to serving you again in the future.

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location right off i-75, right near restaurants, right near local offices. Very comfortable, the staff always makes you feel right at home, very comfortable rooms, nice breakfast setup, and a refreshing pool to top it off. And don't forget the complimentary ice cream from 8 to 10! Best comfort and value in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for the compliments you have shared about the hotel and the great points you make about the area, as it relates to getting work done (restaurants, proximity to I75 offices). We especially like that you don't let the work get in the way of a trip to the pool!

We look forward to having you back soon so you can experience all of the great room upgrades that are happening in September.

Happy Travels!
George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I didn't believe the other guest post about free beer on the first night until I was there checking in and the clerk offered two choices of beer or water. They also have free ice cream sandwiches from 8 to 10pm for guests. The facility is very clean and modern, recently remodeled. The staff was very helpful and courteous. I had an excellent relaxing weekend vacationing there. There is a huge new 20 movie theater steps away and sushi restaurant next door and all the big name stores and restaurants within walking distance. I love Tampa Bay and this is one hotel worth staying at if you are planning to vacation in Tampa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear KL,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your compliments to the staff and the tips about all of the great restaurants & stores that you can walk to. We are lucky to be in such a great location.

Come see us again soon - Busch Gardens' Howl O'Scream is just around the corner and you'll get to see all of the great new furniture!

Thanks again - it was a pleasure serving you!

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here for five nights while moving my daughter and family to the Tampa area. I was not only looking for a great place for this stay, but for future visits as well. George and his staff did not disappoint. Every staff member I met was friendly, courteous and helpful. When I brought in the grandchildren during my stay, they went out of their way to make them feel welcome as well. The hotel is undergoing a renovation but no construction is obvious. However, the new lobby and breakfast area are great. The complimentary breakfast served each morning varied from day to day and included a good variety. Even though I was not in a suite, they met my request to add a refrigerator to my room. The hotel is very clean and conveniently located off the main highway, with easy access to numerous stores and restaurants. I would encourage anyone to stay at this hotel if you are in the area. I already have my next visit booked!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Colts Fan,

Thanks for your compliments and thanks for choosing our happy hotel! We love being the New Tampa welcome committee when people relocate.

We look forward to serving your family on future visits.

George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Address: 8310 Galbraith Road, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#2 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.