We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8310 Galbraith Road, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #3 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been a Priority Club Member for at least
40 years, I have never stayed in a better place.
The staff are the friendliest people I have ever met, the property is well kept, and the rooms are spotless.
Every trip to Tampa will be here!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    60
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
147
82
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (3 adults/2 children) stayed here over Spring Break. We had a great time in Tampa. It is not far from Busch Gardens or Clearwater. We had a presidential suite (2 bedrooms and pull out couch). The only downfall was it had only one bathroom. That was partly our fault because we just assumed it had two bathrooms. But, other than that it was a great place to stay!

The boys enjoyed the pool at night...it's heated and lovely! The breakfast was nice and changed a bit from day to day. The workout room was well stocked (just make sure you turn the air conditioner down when you start or you might sweat a ton like I did)! The staff was friendly and were all very helpful. If you need anything just let them know and they will get it!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and stay there again!

Room Tip: We had a presidential suite, but could hear the traffic on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My son chose this hotel based on feedback seen on Tripadvisor. We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a better experience. This hotel is in a perfect location, close to Busch Gardens, George Steinbrenner Field and other area attractions without it being in the middle of Tampa chaos. Restaurants and a movie theater within walking distance. The hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating - the hotel itself is clean and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was an added bonus. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful. The housekeeping staff did a good job overall, but did not do an adequate job of vaccuming and dusting. The Wifi was so weak that we had to use our own hot spot. We asked for a quiet room location but was given a room overlooking the swimming pool. The breakfast overall was good except they keep putting stale biscuits out nearly every morning. They must cook them once a week. I probably would not stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Moore405,

Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your great feedback! I am sorry that the Wifi was moving slowly, but please know that my staff is here 24/7 to resolve issues on the spot.

You have given us some areas that we can further improve and we sincerely thank you!

-George Sandona, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My son and I just returned from 4 nights in Tampa watching winter baseball. I chose this hotel because it was central to the baseball parks and it received great reviews on trip advisor. It was very obvious to me that each and every staff member truly cared about making our stay complete. I have to say that Judy at the front desk was so helpful. Her cheerful and helpful attitude was very much appreciated. What hotel offers a complimentay drink at check-Inn? To go down for a very complete all-included breakfast at 8:30am and then return 45 minutes later to a totally cleaned up, madeup room was quite impressive. This is a hotel that pays attention to details; Truly hospitable. It was a refreshing reminder about what customer service really means!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel through Busch Gardens...as we were planning on visiting the park...so we were on their site. We stayed four days...three nights....and had a 14 day pass to Busch Gardens. Our room had a king-sized bed...and was extremely comfortable.
This was a wonderful hotel. We were greeted at the check in desk...and offered a beverage..water, beer, or something else. I have NEVER had this happen before. Each and every one of the desk staff were polite and efficient!
Our room was wonderful....the breakfast area was top-notch...and the people who staff the breakfast area work really hard to keep the area clean...and all food fully stocked. Of all the places that we stayed on this recent Florida trip...this Holiday Inn had the best breakfast!
At 8:00 pm....they would roll out a freezer with ice cream novelties. This was a real treat...especially after coming back from all the walking at Busch Gardens!
We met the manager in the breakfast area. He stopped by and asked us how our experience was. In addition, he had posted a "letter" in the elevators stating that they wanted their guests experience to be a 10...and to please contact him if we had any concerns. In other words...they wanted to make your experience the best it could be...while you were there....we never had to contact him for anything...as our total experience was just perfect!
There were a variety of restaurants close to the hotel...and it was convenient to hop on the road and drive to Busch Gardens (no shuttle from this hotel...as it is a little far)
I noticed a "vase" of umbrellas by the door...for guests to use, if necessary...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is an update to a review from one year ago.

There's lots of great things about this hotel and a few little problems, none of which should keep you from staying here if you get a good price or the hotel is convenient to where you want to be.

Among the great things: super friendly staff who greet you warmly when you check in and look up to say hello every time you walk by (this is an improvement from last year). A free beer or bottle of water when you check in. Free ice cream in the lobby every evening. A pretty good breakfast (if you stick with the cold stuff) and a free newspaper. Free wifi. And the hotel is clean and quite. In particular, this is one of the few hotels where you don't hear doors slamming up and down the hallways. Somehow, they've managed to quiet their doors.

On the small list of things to improve: bathroom cups and coffee cups in the room weren't replenished after being used. No fresh fruit one morning at breakfast. Various kinds of "eggs" that didn't taste like eggs. Or like anything. A toaster that took 5 minutes to make a piece of toast (long lines and folks who gave up). Slow wifi that often dropped the connection.

And one thing that Holiday Inn itself cannot fix. Although the location is convenient to lots of area attractions, it is annoying to get to. The left hand turn from Bruce B Downs Blvd can take several light cycles and as long as ten minutes. Add to this the timing of the light coming off of 275 south and just getting into the hotel can take 10-15 minutes longer than you expect.

Overall, nice place to stay if you need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgeathisuites, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
"Dear Dr. King,

Thanks so much for the great feedback! We are always in the process of reviewing our operations for areas of improvement. Your honest comments drive our desire to make your next stay "great".

We will be reviewing your "short list" , and your compliments, at our weekly Continuous Improvement Meeting. Also, I have shared your comments on the signal timing with the City of Tampa. I'll bet they care just as much as I do, about the impressions they leave on our travelers.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

-George Sandona, General Manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites New Tampa i-75 Bruce b. Downs
Holiday Inn Express Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn
Address: 8310 Galbraith Road, I-75 (exit 270) at Bruce B Downs Bl., Tampa, FL 33647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tampa
#17 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out why New Tampa is the 'Place To Be' The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is closest in New Tampa to Busch Gardens and University of South Florida (USF). This beautiful Hotel & Suites is located in the pristine 'New Tampa' area of Tampa and is easy to get to at I-75 exit 270. The hotel is close to everything; yet it is nestled in a peaceful nature preserve area. New Tampa is exciting, clean, fresh and new with over 15 restaurants and 5 golf courses. From the hotel you can walk to the new 20 screen movie theater, restaurants and shopping.This Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is recognized as having one of the best guest service ratings of any hotel in the country. It features a heated outdoor pool with lushly landscaped grounds, free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless access in public areas, a business center, fitness center and the hotel s own putting green. The 27 suites also include a wet bar and 47" TV's. Executive suites & presidential suites feature Jacuzzi tubs, glass enclosed showers and multiple TV sets. This is the closest Express in New Tampa to Busch Gardens, USF-University of South Florida, DTCC, T-Mobile, USAA, Verizon, Coca-Cola, Achieve Global, Washington Mutual, JLM Industries, Telecom Park, Hidden River, Highwoods Preserve, Museum of Science & Industry, Moffitt Cancer Center and more. Pets under 35lbs are allowed in a limited number of guest rooms with a $50 deep clean fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.