We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best part of the evening was leaving.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Murder Mystery Company

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Murder Mystery Company
12924 N. Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33618
888-643-2583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 118 Activities in Tampa
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Looking to Solve the Case of the Perfect Party?Here's a clue! The Murder Mystery Company is the nation's most popular, interactive, mystery troupe.
Tampa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best part of the evening was leaving.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Bad location, Bad pictures when you arrive, Bad costume hats, Bad seating, Bad salad, Bad drink prices, Bad food, Bad acting, Bad story line, Bad $20 picures, Bad desserts, Bad $9 gratuity per person, Bad ending, Bad, Bad, Bad ….. The best part of the evening was leaving.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    5
    2
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Who done it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I read the reviews, was a little hesitant about what to expect. Seating is alittle tight. The food was better than expected, I really enjoyed the fish...well seasoned. Dessert was slices of cake. The upgrade to my ticket...I really couldn't see it as a plus. The show it's self was interactive....You got out of it what you put into it. My family enjoyed it and look forward to the changing to the next production...great night to do something different.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sham & a waste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It says on the tickets gratuity is not included... however it doesn't say that you will be slapped with a $9 per person fee AFTER paying for your ticket!! Poor food quality, poor acting, poor business practice. DON'T DO IT!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

They cram you into this room and the seating is tight and hardly any table space. The only things to drink are water, unsweet ice tea, beer and wine. The food was average but there are no condiments like salt, pepper, sugar, steak sauce. One waitress seemed to be doing all the work for like 100 people. The appetizers were a joke, $7 for some slices of bread and chopped tomatoes (Bruschetta). On top of the meal you are served with a bill for gratuity of $9 a person, which equates to a meal price of $100.

Then the show itself...well there are 3 actors and all of the suspects are played by someone in the audience. It didn't seem to be on a volunteer basis, people were just tagged and given a book with their lines. No one was reading the book, there was no clue finding.

Waste of time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS SHOW!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This murder mystery is extremely over-priced. The food is a joke, and the acting is too!! One guest at each table is compelled to act as a character, rather than having the opportunity to sit back and enjoy a show. The seating is horrendous. My husband and I were seated across from each other at the end of table with a family of six. On the other hand, there was one table with only two guests. Meanwhile, my I was seated with my back to most of the action, and had to turn to see what was going on.

The bolagnese sauce was watery, and my husband said that the chicken was clearly processed. Gratuity at $9.00 per person is insane!!!

I wish I could get my money back, and have not intentions of returning!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Murder Mystery Company also viewed

 

Been to The Murder Mystery Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Murder Mystery Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.