We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating Lady at the front desk.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Tampa South to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tampa South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4620 West Gandy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very accommodating Lady at the front desk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Linda and I arrived very early for our 1 night stay. Jodi, the lady at the front desk, told us to wait and she would see what she could do about getting us into a room. A couple minutes later she returned checked us in and handed us our keys. That was a great beginning of our vacation stay in the Sunshine State. She also helped us with questions about where a certain dept. store was and the directions to get us there.
As for the room, it was bright and clean. We only had one complaint about it. The shower nozzle and the trick needed to get it to work. It really wasn't a trick, but more honestly the understanding on how it worked. We never saw one like it. It was like when you rent a car and want to put gas in and the latch handle is someplace in the car and it takes you awhile to figure out where it is. This experience with the shower was similar to that . I must say though, "what little problem we had with the shower was totally washed away with the thoughts of how wonderful we were treated when we showed up early by Jodi". As people say, "she is a keeper". Thank you Jodi. By the way, she had a wonderful sounding accent. She was from Australia or New Zealand, not sure which.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
30
16
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you are looking for quality service then look no further. I stayed at this hotel and was amazed at the customer service that was given from a employee named Jodee. I won't go into detail about an incident that happened while I was there but I will say that jodee handled the situation perfectly, while always being polite and kind and compassionate towards the person involved (even though in my opinion this guest did not deserve jodee's compassion)
I have stayed over in a lot of hotels all ranging from 3 star to 5 star, but never have I come across someone who's customer service skills leave you speechless.
This employee is beyond a doubt an asset to this establishment and I only hope they see this as well for jodee is the front for this hotel and like they always say, first impressions make a lasting impression. With jodee there, they wont ever have to worry about first impressions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Needed a "cheap" place to stay for one night - in the Tampa area - not the first time at a La Quinta and I had had good experiences before. The rate was definitely reasonable especially for Tampa, but the place was a little tired... needing brightening up and the room definitely needed an update. Didn't use the pool, looked like it needed some work as well. The concierge/desk clerk was very friendly and helpful, the location was convenient although not the best neighborhood. OK for one night, but wouldn't want to have stayed too long. Bed was very comfortable... took a while to figure out how to use the shower!!! Lighting in the bathroom was flattering but not great for making up. Tub was cracked! So as I said, definitely needs so updating! Had a nice fitness room, didn't have time, but would have liked to try it. OVERALL: not a bad bang for the buck!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed one night here after arriving via taxi from airport at 3 am. Chose because it is directly across the street from Budget Car rental, allowing us to avoid the premium of renting at the airport, but here the next day.

Room was good size and breakfast included all the necessary items, yogurt, waffles, hard boiled eggs, fruit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good location. In walking distance to restaurants and nightlife. Nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Was surprised by how comfortable the beds were. There is a pool outside but the weather did not cooperate during my stay. The fitness center was a little to small and there were no free weights just a treadmill and a couple of ellipticals. Breakfast was better than just a continental but not IHOP. There are cookies at the front desk if you can get to the jar before whoever else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa South

Address: 4620 West Gandy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33611
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa South 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa South Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tampa South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.