We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4312 W Spruce St, Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Extended StayAmerica Tampa - West Shore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #83 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
cincinnati
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very Nice Hotel.. big rooms, very close to the shopping mall.. we ended up watching a movie also. Very close to the airport and not a very long distance from Clearwater Beach. Very friendly staff and I git a great rate too.. we were 3 adults and 2 kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you were able to take advantage of our great location.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
4
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hubby and I retired to Tampa and needed a nice, accessible, affordable place until our condo was ready (7 weeks). Everything was newly remodeled and the rooms had great perks with home style amenities. The Staff was very helpful and the Manageress was super. 5 Star malls, markets, eateries, etc. are just a stones throw away. Glad we came and we didn't miss the exercise room, pool or restaurant; because we like to keep fit naturally. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are all so grateful that you took the time to write such a great review of our property. We love having you here and hope that you decide to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area. Thank you again for the review, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

While the amenities were wasted on a hotel so close to the airport, I appreciated them anyway. The room was really cute, a little on the small side but packed with stuff: large TV, full size refrig., small kitchen, desk/table, dressing area, and best of all--lots of space for clothes, bags, etc. to keep everything off the floor. Everything was clean and looked fairly new, although I am not a fan of hotel carpets but at least it looked clean enough. The one lowlight was the continental breakfast--I am not a fan of oatmeal, but they did have fresh fruit at least.

Room Tip: I chose a top floor room to avoid ceiling noise from the room above. Unfortunately, the people in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review for our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our rooms to be exactly what you needed. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Although I only stayed for 1 night my experience was better than most hotels at 3 times the price. My room was very large, very clean, and had everything one would need for an extended stay. The mall is 2 blocks away (maybe 4 including parking lot). If the walk is too long for you I would recommend a diet and good exercise. If handicapped a taxi would be preferred. I did not use the laundry facilities but they looked newer and very convenient. The vending machines were actually not sold out of anything(a rarity). I thought the menus slipped under the door of area restaurants with delivery was nice. I thought the area had a safe feel. I saw people of all ages and backrounds walking and running at all hours. There is a very nice seafood restaurant going in about 50yrds. from the hotel. I'm sure this will be another plus. This is an airport convenient hotel. If you want nightlife grab a taxi. I would recommend to anyone. Some people will complain about anything! This hotel does not pretend to be what it's not. It is excellent for what it is!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I really enjoyed reading your description of your stay; I feel like you described us perfectly! We are all so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you choose to stay with us again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just a quick overnight, but it is well equipped for a longer stay. No pots and pans, but stovetop, etc. The room was redone....not too bad, but the toilet ran all night. I didn't mind walking during the day, but would not walk alone at night. The mall is across the street, one block away, but it's a pretty long walk. No food available, only an IHOP 2 blocks away. The desk staff was very nice.
I really wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that your toilet didn't work properly. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at tws@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 2011. To say the least it needed an upgrade. We took a recent vacation and like to stay at hotels that offer a little kitchen so we can cook our own food.
While doing our search we noticed that this property was advertising newly remodeled. Looked at the pictures and oh well, got suckered in to believe this was a nice place with newly remodeled rooms. Well not really. The newly remodeled rooms have a new TV and a new bead spread. The furniture is the same old beat up particle board with new handles on it. The kitchen is a joke as it was before. For cooking we had an old pot and a plastic spoon that was half melted and unusable. The coffee maker was old and filthy.The kitchen area was the same old beat up décor with new handles on the drawers and cabinets. The carpet was not new and was covered with several large stains. The bathroom had a new shower curtain and a shelf under the sink. There was a huge hole behind the toilet. The toilet was installed improperly and the seat would not stay up on its own. So, don’t be fooled by the “newly remolded” advertisement. It’s the same old beat up hotel with a lot of noise at night. We were kept up one night while two people argued. There was banging on the door, a screen was ripped off. They claim they have security but, nothing was done. Oh yes, the new alarm clock. Must have cost at least two dollars and is completely non fuctionable.

If you decide to stay here we offer these tips. Bring your own kitchen stuff. Pots, pans, cooking utensils, spoons, forks, etc. If you are a business person and need to use the internet, expect only to access your e-mail and search engine. We tested the net speed and it came up .75 mbps, and download was .35. Lastly bring ear plugs, bug spray, hangers, and low expectations.

Lastly, we were very disappointed as we were expecting a nice new safe room. What we got was the same old beat up noisy hotel with a new TV and a new bedspread.

Beware!
We stayed at this hotel in 2011. To say the least it needed an upgrade. We took a recent vacation and like to stay at hotels that offer a little kitchen so we can cook our own food.
While doing our search we noticed that this property was advertising newly remodeled. Looked at the pictures and oh well, got suckered in to believe this was a nice place with newly remodeled rooms. Well not really. The newly remodeled rooms have a new TV and a new bead spread. The furniture is the same old beat up particle board with new handles on hit. The kitchen is a joke as it was before. For cooking we had an old pot and a plastic spoon that was half melted and unusable. The kitchen area was the same old beat up décor with new handles on the drawers and cabinets. The carpet was not new and was covered with several large stains. The bathroom had a new shower curtain and a shelf under the sink. There was a huge hole behind the toilet. The toilet was installed improperly and the seat would not stay up on its own. So, don’t be fooled by the “newly remolded” advertisement. It’s the same old beat up hotel with a lot of noise at night. We were kept up one night while two people argued. There was banging on the door, a screen was ripped off. They claim they have security but, nothing was done.

If you decide to stay here we offer these tips. Bring your own kitchen stuff. Pots, pans, cooking utensils, spoons, forks, etc. If you are a business person and need to use the internet, expect only to access your e-mail and search engine. We tested the net speed and it came up .75 mbps, and download was .35. Lastly bring ear plugs, bug spray, hangers, and low expectations.

Lastly, we were very disappointed as we were expecting a nice new safe room. What we got was the same old beat up noisy hotel with a new TV and a new bedspread.

Beware!

Room Tip: Hope for the best but, expect the worst
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am going to make sure our alarm clocks are always plugged in, and that we remind everyone at check-in to please let us know if they'd like additional pots, pans, pillows, blankets, or anything else they need to make their stay more comfortable. We have extras of everything at the front desk and are happy to provide them upon request. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at tws@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is often the lowest priced in the airport/International Plaza area. THe rooms were recently re-done and clean and modern. There is no restaurant or any amenities, but the mall is just a short walk or drive away.

Room Tip: They all seem the same to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and that you considered us to be a great value. We hope to see you again soon, should your travels bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street

Address: 4312 W Spruce St, Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Extended StayAmerica Tampa - West Shore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Tampa
Tampa Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.