We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget friendly hotel - clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4312 W Spruce St, Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Extended StayAmerica Tampa - West Shore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #76 of 159 hotels in Tampa
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good budget friendly hotel - clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is often the lowest priced in the airport/International Plaza area. THe rooms were recently re-done and clean and modern. There is no restaurant or any amenities, but the mall is just a short walk or drive away.

Room Tip: They all seem the same to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and that you considered us to be a great value. We hope to see you again soon, should your travels bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
4
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We chose this motel because of it's convenient location and room size and amenities. The facility is somewhat dated but very clean. The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous. The room was also somewhat dated but clean and fairly large. Room had a kitchen with range and refrigerator, and plenty of storage space if staying for a few days. There were ironing board and iron but no blow dryer. The front desk had blow dryers available on request. Our overall impression was that this was a good room for the price, especially if you need to stay for more than overnight. It's not fancy, but definitely fit our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Mr Donald, I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and sharing your experience with us. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt our hotel was a perfect fit for your travel needs. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was great, this is our second year back and Extended Stay America did not disappoint us. Our room was ready early for check in and the staff gladly gave us towels when we needed more.
We loved Margi at the front desk, she always had a smile on her face.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review of our property. It's feedback like yours that inspires us to continue providing excellent service day after day. We loved having you guys back this year, and hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is one of , if not the best Extended Stays that I have ever stayed at. It is so clean and new looking. It is close to everything in Tampa that is important, the malls, the stadiums, the airport and the casino(15 minutes away) . I stayed here for several nights and all the staff were wonderful and could not do enough for me. The manager of the hotel Jessica does an amazing job, she is very involved and approachable for anything you need. Every member of her team is always on their "A" game especially Margie, who is a very pleasnt young lady who works at the desk. I will definitly stay here again. The price is very affordable as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
James B, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our hotel. We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay and are thrilled to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel! My husband and I recently stayed here and our experience was so delightful that I just had to share it with others and write a review. The lobby area was clean and we felt very welcomed. The staff was so friendly and very knowledgeable. We asked the front desk staff about where we could have a nice quiet dinner and were not let down by the recommendation. Our room was clean room with no smells and no noise. We had fantastic sleep quality throughout our stay. We will certainly choose this hotel should the need arise again. The only critique I have is that a shuttle service to the airport would be a great addition. One wasn't available, buy the staff called us a taxi. Not a huge deal, just a small extra expense on our trip. Thanks again and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comments with our staff, they will be delighted to hear your kind words. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I picked this hotel because of the good reviews and the location to where my son works in town. I arrived on Saturday afternoon and had a very easy checkin. Upon entering my first floor room I was taken aback by a foul smell (moldy/chemical smell). I knew I couldn't spend the next 3 nights in that room so I went right back to the front desk where the attendant quickly gave me another room down the hall. This room passed the smell test, though not completely odor free. When the AC was on the odor was not as apparent though.
While the room appeared neat and clean I noticed over the 3 nights of staying there it was not as clean as I would have liked. The shower had hairs in it. The floor in the kitchen area had crumbs and dust on it (behind the door). I also stepped on a staple in the carpet. I was alone in the room so I know I didn't do anything to dirty it with crumbs and staples. Also, I just assume every hotel will have a hair dryer but this one didn't. There were no toiletries either other than soap. I didn't read ahead of time about the maid service - which is only every 7 days. So re-entering the room to an unmade bed caught me by surprise. I made it myself the next day. There should be a better supply of tissue paper in the bathroom and more waste baskets considering the room is not maintained for a 3 night stay.
When I went to check out on the last morning there was no one at the counter. There was a gentlemen in the hallway who said his shift was done and was leaving. He said he didn't have access to the computer - I would have to wait for someone who was running late and expected there within a 1/2 hour. Luckily I did have just a half hour before my flight so I waited and she did show up. Strange to not have front desk coverage at 7:30 in the morning
I did like the free parking and wifi. The "breakfast" was fine for my liking but it was only a few items in baskets beneath the coffee counter. The location is good too.
I will stay somewhere else on my next visit,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. What you have described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I am meeting with my staff to ensure that these issues do not happen again in the future. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at tws@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The fornt desk representive , Margi , has made our stay very outstanding.
She always has a smile on her face and accomdates any needs necessary.
This hotel is very clean , comfortable.
I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Recommend the east side much sunlight (:
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrmaf, Manager at Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the lovely compliments. We are very fortunate to have wonderful desk clerks and housekeepers who pride themselves in their work. Thank you again for your review. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street

Address: 4312 W Spruce St, Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Extended StayAmerica Tampa - West Shore)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Tampa
Tampa Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Tampa - Airport - Spruce Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.